Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
3D Printing for Dummies, 2nd ed by The bestselling book on 3D printing 3D printing is one of the coolest inventions we've seen in our lifetime, and now you can join the ranks of business people, entrepreneurs, and hobbyists who use it to do everything from printing foods and candles to replacement parts for older technologies--and tons of mind-blowing stuff in between! You'll find all the fast and easy-to-follow guidance you need to grasp the methods available to create 3D printable objects using software, 3D scanners, and even photographs through open source software applications like 123D Catch. Thanks to the growing availability of 3D printers, this remarkable technology is coming to the masses, and there's no time like the present to let your imagination run wild and actually create whatever you dream up--quickly and inexpensively. etc.
Call Number: ebook, click USM access
Publication Date: 2017
Fabricated by Fabricated tells the story of 3D printers, humble manufacturing machines that are bursting out of the factory and into schools, kitchens, hospitals, even onto the fashion catwalk. Fabricated describes our emerging world of printable products, where people design and 3D print their own creations as easily as they edit an online document. A 3D printer transforms digital information into a physical object by carrying out instructions from an electronic design file, or 'blueprint.' Guided by a design file, a 3D printer lays down layer after layer of a raw material to 'print' out an object. That's not the whole story, however. The magic happens when you plug a 3D printer into today's mind-boggling digital technologies. Add to that the Internet, tiny, low cost electronic circuitry, radical advances in materials science and biotech and voila! The result is an explosion of technological and social innovation. Fabricated takes the reader onto a rich and fulfilling journey that explores how 3D printing is poised to impact nearly every part of our lives. Aimed at people who enjoy books on business strategy, popular science and novel technology, Fabricated will provide readers with practical and imaginative insights to the question 'how will this technology change my life?' Based on hundreds of hours of research and dozens of interviews with experts from a broad range of industries, Fabricated offers readers an informative, engaging and fast-paced introduction to 3D printing now and in the future.
Call Number: Available from MaineCat
Publication Date: 2013
Mastering 3D Printing by Mastering 3D Printing shows you how to get the most out of your printer, including how to design models, choose materials, work with different printers, and integrate 3D printing with traditional prototyping to make techniques like sand casting more efficient.You've printed key chains. You've printed simple toys. Now you're ready to innovate with your 3D printer to start a business or teach and inspire others. Joan Horvath has been an educator, engineer, author, and startup 3D printing company team member. She shows you all of the technical details you need to know to go beyond simple model printing to make your 3D printer work for you as a prototyping device, a teaching tool, or a business machine.
Call Number: Available via Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Laser Additive Manufacturing of High-Performance Materials by This book entitled "Laser Additive Manufacturing of High-Performance Materials" covers the specific aspects of laser additive manufacturing of high-performance new materials components based on an unconventional materials incremental manufacturing philosophy, in terms of materials design and preparation, process control and optimization and theories of physical and chemical metallurgy. This book describes the capabilities and characteristics of the development of new metallic materials components by laser additive manufacturing process, including nanostructured materials, in situ composite materials, particle reinforced metal matrix composites, etc. The topics presented in this book, similar as laser additive manufacturing technology itself, show a significant interdisciplinary feature, integrating laser technology, materials science, metallurgical engineering and mechanical engineering. This is a book for researchers, students, practicing engineers and manufacturing industry professionals interested in laser additive manufacturing and laser materials processing. Dongdong Gu is a Professor at College of Materials Science and Technology, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics (NUAA), PR China.
Call Number: Available via Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Here are included practical application websites and well as informational POF
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowProvides Access to over 100,000 Bibliographic and Abstracted Records.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher provides in depth reports on current issues in the news each week from 1923 to present. Reports often contain lengthy discussion plus graphs, pro/con articles, a chronology, and links to organizations and other associated resources. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new windowIndex to the tables of contents of 17,000 English language periodicals. Covers all disciplines. Updated daily. NOTE: Full text access available ONLY with subscriptions to individual titles. Check your library for holdings.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Science Citation Index (2000 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index (2000-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (2000-present). Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.Coverage: 2000+
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/journal-title-lists
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.
Suggested Search Terms
To find materials on this topic in URSUS (catalog) or Databases (articles) or OneSearch (URSUS + articles), try the following terms, either as Subject Headings or keywords:
Three Dimensional Printing
3-D Printing in Maine
Here are included items pertaining to 3-D Printing in Maine.
Maine Newsstand This link opens in a new windowIndex to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present).
- Search Maine Newstand for local info!