Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
USM Libraries are available to help.
USM Libraries Resources
This guide provides access to USM Libraries subscription resources and services that are essential to success in TAH 415. As a distance student, please refer to Distance Learning Resources on the left. Use the tabs above for more.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Premium contains over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, all published by Oxford University Press. Areas of coverage include science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Encyclopedia of Tourism by
Call Number: HF5410-5417.5
Publication Date: 2016-08-26
This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and updated source of reference in tourism research and practice. It covers both traditional and emerging concepts and terms and is fully international in its scope.nbsp;More thannbsp;800nbsp;contributions of over 200 internationally renowned experts provide a definitive access to the knowledge in the field of tourism, hospitality, recreation and related fields. All actors in this field will find reliable and up to date definitions and explanations of the key terms of tourism in this reference work. Tourism is the largest industry worldwide and is the main source of income for many countries.nbsp;With both, this practical impact ofnbsp;tourism and anbsp;rapidly developingnbsp;academic field,nbsp;withnbsp;a growing number of university courses and degrees in tourism, andnbsp;a flourishing research,nbsp;thisnbsp;encyclopedianbsp;is the epicenternbsp;of this emergingnbsp;and developing discipline.
Quality articles are rarely available in Google, instead being accessible via subscription databases. USM Library provides the subscription databases below. When entering the these databases from an off-campus location use the 25022... number at the bottom of your activated USM ID card. If it does not work call 780-4270 to have the card activated over the phone. Otherwise, use the MyUSM portal at the bottom of the USM homepage to login and follow the portal link to the library.
Academic Search Complete
Large, multidisciplinary database of 6,300 peer-reviewed journals in every field, plus more.
Business Collection Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Coverage: updated daily
100 prestigious management journals. 1994 to present.
1,800 full text, peer reviewed journals
Competence-Based Innovation in Hospitality and Tourism, by Herald Pechlaner is the required textbook for this course. It should be available at the bookstore.
URSUS (Library Catalog)
URSUS is the book catalog for the University of Maine System Libraries, the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library. Records for books, videos and other non-article materials are indexed. Online access is provided within records to online sources, such as e-books and streaming videos. To locate and access articles use any of our article databases, instead. Free delivery between URSUS-participating libraries is provided. Links to MaineCat within URSUS records provides dual searching of MaineCat member libraries and free delivery.
Statewide book catalog that includes Colby, Bates, Bowdoin, UNE, Husson and many other libraries in Maine. Always search URSUS first; request a book from MaineCat with your USM library barcode number only if there is no available copy in URSUS.
36 million items throughout the world. Use Interlibrary Loan to request free USM delivery is not in URSUS or MaineCat.
Reframing Sustainable Tourism by
Call Number: G156.5.S87 R44 2016eb
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
This book examines the need for a new way of describing sustainable tourism and also looks at the frameworks needed to rethink how to apply this to communities, private operators and protected area managers.
Wine and Tourism by
Call Number: TP548.5.T68
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
The aim of this book is to show how wine tourism can be used as a model for sustainable economic development, driving economic growth and social development in some locations.
Open Tourism by
Call Number: G155.A1
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
This book examines the concepts of open innovation, crowdsourcing and co-creation from a holistic point of view and analyzes them considering their suitability to the tourism industry. Methods, theories and models are discussed and examined regarding their practical applicability in tourism. .
Most of our databases will provide the citation of a given article from the article screen. Look for the link, usually on the right. URSUS also contains a citation link on the left of every record.