Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Books about Art
Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist by
Call Number: NC760 .P35 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist includes sections on bones, muscles, surface anatomy, proportion, equilibrium, and locomotion. Other unique features are sections on the types of human physique, anatomy from birth to old age, an orientation on racial anatomy, and an analysis of facial expressions.
Atlas of World Art by
Call Number: GOR Ref G1046.E1 O9 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-20
The Atlas of World Art maps the cumulative traces of humankind's artistic activity and demonstrates the importance of physical and political geography for the history of the world's art.
Contemporary Photographers by
Call Number: GOR Ref TR139 .C664 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Contemporary Photographers represents world-renowned photographers of our era who have greatly influenced the medium. Biographical and critical information coupled with an inside look at the many different photographic styles allows readers to discover the lives and works of a diverse group of more than 850 international photographers.
Searching for Books: URSUS, MaineCat, WorldCat
Sign-in through the MyUSM portal for access to thousands of eBooks via the URSUS catalog or via one of our eBook databases. In URSUS, students have access to books listing 'USM Access' or 'UM System-wide Access.'
Teacher As Curator by Teacher as Curator provides a roadmap for using creative strategies to engage both educators and students in the learning process. Focusing on key qualities of culturally and linguistically responsive arts learning, chapters specifically demonstrate how arts integration strategies and formative assessment can be a catalyst for change in the classroom. Readers will be inspired by teachers and practitioners who have donned the role of curator to achieve significant results. Kindergarten-college educators will find research-based protocols and practices that they can translate into any educational setting. In digestible chapters, this resource provides a theoretical base for building artistic literacy into the curriculum and for developing multimodal opportunities for students to demonstrate their understanding of content. Book Features: Explores the role of curation in the classroom. Highlights processes for innovation and multimodal learning. Showcases the work of teachers from different subjects and grade levels. Provides examples of integrated learning through lesson planning, curatorial maps, and learning stories. Offers strategies that can deepen artistic literacy and engage students through formative assessment.
Call Number: NX280 .D66 2020
Publication Date: 2020-10-30
Raffaello 1520-1483. Ediz. Inglese by A tribute to the master of Urbino on the occasion of the 500th anniversary of his death.The most important exhibition devoted to the painter in 2020. Published in collaboration with the greatest museums in the world, this monograph proposes an original journey backwards, "à rebour", in the universe of Raphael, where his relationship with the ancient and with Rome guides the reader in an unprecedented journey from the artist's death in 1520 to his formative years between Urbino, Città di Castello, Perugia and Siena. The monograph - published on the occasion of the major exhibition in Rome - has a scientific committee of excellence, composed by Matteo Lafranconi, Marzia Faietti, Sylvia Ferino, Alan Brown, Dominique Cordellier, Guido Cornini, Francesco Paolo Di Teodoro, Vincenzo Farinella, Achim Gnann, Barbara Jatta, Alessandro Nova, Nicholas Penny, Mario Scalini, Alessandro Viscogliosi; each member of the committee is the curator of one section of the catalogue which is introduced by his essay and accompanied by the entries of the works. For centuries Raphael (1483-1520) has been recognised as the supreme High Renaissance painter; though he died at 37, Raphael's example as a paragon of classicism dominated the academic tradition of European painting until the mid-19th century. Raphael was born in Urbino where his father, Giovanni Santi, was court painter. He almost certainly began his training there and must have known works by Mantegna, Paolo Uccello and Piero della Francesca from an early age. His earliest paintings were also greatly influenced by Perugino. From 1500 (when he became an independent master) to 1508 he worked throughout central Italy, particularly Florence, where he became a noted portraitist and painter of Madonnas.In 1508, at the age of 25, he was called to the court of Pope Julius II to help with the redecoration of the papal apartments. In Rome he evolved as a portraitist, and became one of the greatest of all history painters. He remained in Rome for the rest of his life and in 1514, on the death of Bramante, he was appointed architect in charge of St Peter's.
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Félix Fénéon: the Anarchist and the Avant-Garde by Though largely forgotten today and always discreetly behind the scenes in his own day, Félix Fénéon had an extraordinary impact on the development of modernism in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and played a key role in the careers of leading artists from Georges Seurat and Paul Signac to Pierre Bonnard and Henri Matisse. The centrepiece of the exhibition will be Signac's portrait of Fénéon, Opus 217. Against the Enamel of a Background Rhythmic with Beats and Angels, Tones, and Tints, Portrait of M. Félix Fénéon in 1890 - an important recent acquisition to MoMA's collection. The exhibition and catalogue are a collaboration with the Musées d'Orsay/Orangerie (opening October, 2019) and the Musée du quai Branly-Jacques Chirac (opening May, 2019). The MoMA presentation will combine, distil and augment elements from the two complimentary Paris venues. The Quai Branly focuses primarily on Fénéon's collection of sculpture from Africa and Oceania, while the Orangerie focuses primarily on European paintings and works on paper.
Publication Date: 2020-05-05
The Obama Portraits by A richly illustrated celebration of the paintings of President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama From the moment of their unveiling at the National Portrait Gallery in early 2018, the portraits of Barack and Michelle Obama have become two of the most beloved artworks of our time. Kehinde Wiley's portrait of President Obama and Amy Sherald's portrait of the former first lady have inspired unprecedented responses from the public, and attendance at the museum has more than doubled as visitors travel from near and far to view these larger-than-life paintings. After witnessing a woman drop to her knees in prayer before the portrait of Barack Obama, one guard said, "No other painting gets the same kind of reactions. Ever." The Obama Portraits is the first book about the making, meaning, and significance of these remarkable artworks. Richly illustrated with images of the portraits, exclusive pictures of the Obamas with the artists during their sittings, and photos of the historic unveiling ceremony by former White House photographer Pete Souza, this book offers insight into what these paintings can tell us about the history of portraiture and American culture. The volume also features a transcript of the unveiling ceremony, which includes moving remarks by the Obamas and the artists. A reversible dust jacket allows readers to choose which portrait to display on the front cover. An inspiring history of the creation and impact of the Obama portraits, this fascinating book speaks to the power of art--especially portraiture--to bring people together and promote cultural change. Published in association with the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery, Washington, DC
Publication Date: 2020-02-11