University of Southern MaineLibraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Chat with a Librarian

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curriculums and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
New
1867-1970. Maine Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of city and town fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. ProQuest created Digital Sanborn Maps from its microfilm collection, filmed from the Library of Congress' map collection. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery. USM & Fogler Library has access to the collection of Maine Sanborn maps, covering more than 120 towns and cities.
Trial
A daily, online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. Its original articles are written by a network of more than 400 contributors from around the world.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...