A-Z Databases

Best Bet

Data Sets Available

EBooks

Full Text

Graphs Available

Listen

Music

Need Help

PDFs Available

Reference

Statistics Available

Images

Video, Streaming

Excellent Resource

Creative Commons

Creative Commons Attribution Required

Access Provided by Digital Maine Library

The most frequently-used databases

Academic Search Complete

This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.

Business Source Complete

RECOMMENDED, start here for a comprehensive business database. EBSCO’s Business Source Complete has full text coverage of over 3,700 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more, plus an additional 3,000 journals that are indexed and abstracted. BSC also provides full text access to the Harvard Business Review and the top five business magazines.

Business Source Complete indexes and abstracts more than 4,800 scholarly, trade, popular, and special interest serials in the fields of business and industry. More than half of the publications are peer- reviewed, and approximately 3,700 provide full text. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.

CINAHL with Full Text

This link opens in a new window

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated

ERIC - Education (EBSCO)

This link opens in a new window

Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.

HeinOnline U. S. Congressional Documents Library

This link opens in a new window

HeineOnline UlS. Contressional Documents Library is a searchable database of Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824) -- Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837) -- Congressional Globe (1833-1873) -- Congressional Record (1873-1880, 1996-2003),U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-2004),American State Papers (1789-1838), Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789)and other important congressional material.

JSTOR

This link opens in a new window

JSTOR is a full text digital archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage generally begins with the first issuse running to within 3 years of present. Current issues of journals are often available from other USM databases.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Oxford Reference Online

This link opens in a new window

Oxford Reference Premium contains over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, all published by Oxford University Press. Areas of coverage include science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.

Project MUSE

This link opens in a new window

Project Muse, a project initiated by John's Hopkins University Press, provides PDF full-text access to more than 600 peer-reviewed journals from 250 university presses and scholarly societies. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.

PsycINFO

This link opens in a new window

Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly

ScienceDirect

This link opens in a new window

ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/journal-title-lists

Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts)

This link opens in a new window

ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.

SpringerLink

This link opens in a new window

SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.

View All View Less

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Scopus

New

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Scopus - Trial thru 12/10/2024

Trial

System Wide Trial Available thru 12/10/2024

We invite the USM community to investigate the Scopus and Web of Science databases while they are open for a four week period, from November 11, 2024 - December 10, 2024.

If you access Scopus and/or Web of Science during the trial period, we kindly request that you fill out a Google feedback form about your experiences. This feedback will be used to determine whether or not the UMSYS Libraries wish to move forward with a system-wide subscription.

Database Description:
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research

US Newsstream

New

U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Web of Science - Trial thru 12/10/2024

Trial

System Wide Trial Available thru 12/10/2024

We invite the USM community to investigate the Scopus and Web of Science databases while they are open for a four week period, from November 11, 2024 - December 10, 2024.

Database Description:
Provides access to the Science Citation Index (2000 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index (2000-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (2000-present). Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.Coverage: 2000+

Guides by Subject

Database Access FAQs

Report a Problem

A-Z Databases

Icon Legend

Featured Databases

New / Trial Databases

Subject Resources

Guides by Subject

Helpful Links