Skip to main content
University of Southern MaineLibraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Chat with a Librarian

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
A growing digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Includes objects relevant to fields such as architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history, ethnographic, and women’s studies; and addresses many other forms of visual culture. Best viewed in Internet Explorer. Enable browser pop-ups in order to use all the features of Artstor.
New
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are composed of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions). Users will be granted access to the resource by following this multi-step process, as listed on the resource's web page: 1) Register in Aviary, 2) Receive Confirmation Email, 3) Search and Request Access to Testimonies, and 4) View Requested Testimonies.
New
Access Provided Courtesy of Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 1 (2008-2015): 21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. Inspired and informed by the unique historic playing conditions of two beautiful iconic theatres, Shakespeare’s Globe’s diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance, cultivates intellectual curiosity, and excites learning to make Shakespeare accessible for all.

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018): 9 landmark productions from the theatre’s most recent seasons, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them. Each performance transports viewers directly into the standing yard of the world famous Globe or the magical candlelit interior of the captivating new
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...