Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These search tools find sources from every discipline, in a variety of formats, and can be a good starting place for research.
Oxford Reference Online
Provides access to over 125 dictionaries and encyclopedias, including business-focused dictionaries. A good place to get background information on your topics or to clarify your understanding of terminology and jargon.
OneSearch searches for everything the USM library owns. It's a good place to start, but searching in URSUS and a Database or two sometimes get you closer to what you're looking for.
Google's academic search, will find scholarly articles, books, and reports. If using off-campus, go to settings and search for University of Southern Maine under "library links" to connect to our subscriptions.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other types of sources.
A comprehensive contemporary news collection of current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Web of Science Core Collection
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine from high impact journals.
These library databases provide in-depth research information from a business perspective in a wide variety of formats that may be useful for various aspects of your project.
Business Source Complete
A comprehensive business database with full text coverage of journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing. Additional content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Proquest One Business
A comprehensive business database. Includes scholarly journals, newspapers, case studies, magazines, market research, data and analyses, and company profiles
IBISWorld Industry Research Reports & Business Environment Profiles
Provides strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries and over 70 global industries. Includes Business Environment Profiles that provide insight into key drivers, including exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
How to find full text
Watch this video for a tutorial on how to find full text for articles in library databases.
Top Information Systems Journals
USM access to a selection of top academic journals recommended by the The Association for Information Systems