Subject Guides: CRM 402: Criminology Capstone: Find Articles

Find Articles

To complete your research, you will need to consult periodicals as well as books. The databases listed below can help you identify journal articles and other publications on your topic.

If you have no idea which discipline is the best match, you want multidisciplinary sources, or you're just not finding anything in a single database, try OneSearch.

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 U.S. and international journals dealing with Criminology, Criminal justice, Corrections, and related subjects, as well as books and conference papers. Most title coverage from c. 2000; limited earlier coverage. Updated
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice Collection makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.

Database search tips

Remember that the database is matching, not thinking. Let's say you're interested in the relationship between poverty and domestic violence.

First, there are multiple ways of referring to many offenses. Brainstorm alternate terms for the crime you have in mind, and join them with "or" so you don't miss anything. Example: domestic violence OR intimate partner violence OR domestic abuse OR ...

InterLibrary Loan

If USM doesn't have a book or article you're interested in using for your research you can also try requesting it through InterLibrary Loan.

We use a system called ILLiad. The first time you use it you'll need to set up an account.

For a link to ILLiad and explanations of how to use it follow the link to this guide:

https://libguides.usm.maine.edu/interlibraryloan

CRM 402: Criminology Capstone: Find Articles

Find Articles

Suggested Databases

Database search tips

InterLibrary Loan

Electronic Journal Search Tool