Below are just a few of our databases useful for cybersecurity research. For more databases with technology content, check out our Databases A-Z List, linked above, and select "Computer Science" from the drop-down.
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
The ACM Digital Library provides publications from the Association for Computing Machinery: all ACM journals and magazines, including an archive from the 1950’s forward (where available); and all SIG (special interest group) conference proceedings and newsletters. It also includes the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a bibliographic abstracting and indexing service with nearly 3 million records.
Once you have a good understanding of your topic and have selected a few keywords, LibrarySearch is a great place to start your research! LibrarySearch is a convenient way to search almost all of the library’s resources (books, peer-reviewed articles, videos, and more) using a single search box.
Tips for using LibrarySearch:
To Request a book or article, follow these steps:
There are many databases to choose form, which will provide you access to a wide variety of research on many topics. To explore databases on a specific subject, check out our Databases A-Z List, linked below, and select your subject from the drop-down. You can also limit your database search by resource type (Data, Images, Videos, Maps, and more) which will help you find the best database for your research.
Tips for searching in databases:
Example:
Primary sources in the sciences are first-hand accounts of original research or projects, written by the researchers themselves.
Secondary sources in the sciences analyze, summarize, or discuss information from one or more primary sources.
For example, a journal article written by a group of researchers about their experiment would be a primary source. A newspaper or magazine article summarizing the journal article for a non-scientific audience would be a secondary source. A book or review article that summarizes the researchers' journal article plus many others about similar topics to draw broad conclusions would also be a secondary source.
Confusingly, primary and secondary sources are often found in the same databases, so you have to apply a little thoughtful analysis to the item you are looking at to determine if it is a primary or secondary source.
Examples of Primary Sources:
Examples of Secondary Sources:
