Subject Guides: * Nursing: Websites

If you Google, do so responsibly

Google Advanced Search

Use Google Advanced Search to limit your searches by domain names (.edu, .org or .gov), searching for or eliminating words or phrases, and selecting a time frame, reduces the number of results and allows you to get a more focused search.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides easy searching of scholarly literature on the Internet across many disciplines. Access to the library's subscription resources is through the "Full Text @ USM" link.

Use Google Scholar if you want only scholarly writings. Many will have been published in journals to which USM subscribes or you can request for free using InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Sign into the MyUSM Portal to have our library holdings displayed.

Ask-A-Librarian

Never pay for an article online without talking to us first! Never pay for an article through Google. If we don't have access to an article, you can request for free via InterLibrary Loan (ILL) When in doubt, check with the library staff.

Websites

When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. Consult UC Berkley's Evaluating Web Pages for evaluation criteria. The following is a selected list of websites that you may find useful.

Best Practice Guidelines
Developed by the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario. Designed to provide nurses with evidence-based recommendations regarding assessment and/or screening in a variety of practice settings. Includes 29 published guidelines as well as a Toolkit and Educator's Resource to support implementation.
BMJ Online
Online version of the British Medical Journal. Contains a series of articles on How to Read a Paper, including Papers that go beyond numbers (qualitative research) and Papers that summarise other papers (systematic reviews and meta-analyses).
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases & Epidemics
From Harvard's Library, this collection provides general background information on diseases and epidemics worldwide, and is organized around significant “episodes,” topics, and people concerned with contagious disease.
MedlinePlus Drug Information
MedlinePlus from the National Library of Medicine gives users a reference to prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, which includes side effects, dosage, and special precautions, intended for a non-medical audience.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Part of NIH, the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and integrative health approaches.
PubChem
NLM database of compounds, substances, and bioassays, including pharmaceuticals. PubChem provides substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data.