Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Databases and Search Tools
OneSearch searches for everything the USM library owns. It's a good place to start, but searching in URSUS and a Database or two sometimes get you closer to what you're looking for.
Google's academic search, will find scholarly articles, books, and reports. If using off-campus, go to settings and search for University of Southern Maine under "library links" to connect to our subscriptions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
MLA Citation Style Resources
MLA Style Center
The official MLA Style website, contains lots of helpful resources, including the ones linked below.
MLA Citation Examples
Shows examples of citations in a variety of formats (e.g. Journal Article, Book, etc.)
MLA Citation Practice Template
Allows you to enter source elements into a form to see how they fit together as a citation.
A Writer's Reference with Exercises by C | Composing and Revising C1 Planning C2 Drafting C3 Writing paragraphs C4 Reviewing, revising, and editing C5 Preparing a portfolio; reflecting on your writing A | Academic Reading, Writing, and Speaking A1 Reading and writing critically A2 Reading and writing about multimodal texts A3 Reading arguments A4 Writing arguments A5 Speaking confidently A6 Writing in the disciplines R | Researched writing R1 Thinking like a researcher; gathering sources R2 Managing information; taking notes responsibly R3 Evaluating sources MLA | MLA Style MLA-1 Supporting a thesis MLA-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism MLA-3 Integrating sources MLA-4 Documenting sources MLA-5 Format and sample research essay APA CMS | APA Style and CMS Style APA-1 Supporting a thesis APA-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism APA-3 Integrating sources APA-4 Documenting sources APA-5 Format and sample research essay CMS-1 Supporting a thesis CMS-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism CMS-3 Integrating sources CMS-4 Documenting sources CMS-5 Format and sample research essay S | Sentence Style S1 Parallelism S2 Needed words S3 Problems with modifiers S4 Shifts S5 Mixed constructions S6 Sentence emphasis S7 Sentence variety W | Word choice W1 Glossary of usage W2 Wordy sentences W3 Active verbs W4 Appropriate language W5 Exact language G | Grammatical sentences G1 Subject-verb agreement G2 Verb form, tenses, and moods G3 Pronouns G4 Adjectives and adverbs G5 Sentence fragments G6 Run-on sentences M | Multilingual Writers and ESL topics M1 Verbs M2 Articles M3 Sentence structure M4 Using adjectives M5 Prepositions and idiomatic expressions M6 Paraphrasing sources effectively P | Punctuation and Mechanics P1 The comma P2 Unnecessary commas P3 The semicolon and the colon P4 The apostrophe P5 Quotation marks P6 Other punctuation marks P7 Spelling and hyphenation P8 Capitalization P9 Abbreviations and numbers P10 Italics B | Basic Grammar B1 Parts of speech B2 Sentence patterns B3 Subordinate word groups B4 Sentence types I | Index
Call Number: POR/GOR/LAC REF PE1408.H2778 2021
Publication Date: 2020
MLA Handbook by Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Call Number: POR/GOR REF LB2369.M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: POR/GOR REF BF76.7.P832020
Publication Date: 2019
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: POR/GOR/LAC REF Z253.U692017
Publication Date: 2017