NUR 611: Advanced Pathophysiology, Integrated Health Assessment and Pharmacology I

The easiest way to locate evidence-based articles on your topic is to use a periodical database. You may find articles in professional/trade, or scholarly periodicals. Consult scholarly, popular and professional/trade periodicals for information about the distinctions.

CINAHL(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) 1982+ Updated weekly.
Covers material published in over 1,800 nursing and allied health periodicals. Also includes doctoral dissertations, selected nursing books, educational software, and audiovisuals. An excellent source for locating articles on evidence-based nursing practice.

Medline 1950+ Updated weekly except new records in “Medline In Process” updated daily.
Created by the National Library of Medicine. Covers 4,800 biomedical periodicals in all languages. EBSCO’s Medline also includes OLDMEDLINE (1950-65), Medline in Process, HealthSTAR, and other subsets - AIDS, Bioethics, Biotechnology, and Health Technology.

PsycINFO 1887+ Updated weekly.
Indexes the professional literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, and physiology in over 2,100 periodicals. Includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Excellent for nursing and medical topics related to behavior, attitudes and mental health or illness.

PubMed 1950+ Updated daily.
Available free from the National Library of Medicine. Same as Medline except also includes out-of-scope journals such as general science and biology. Includes links to many free full-text articles, but not to paid subscription journals covered by USM’s version of Medline. Clinical filters can be used to limit searches to articles on systematic reviews and meta analysis and to four types of clinical research - diagnosis, etiology, therapy and prognosis.

Cochrane Library Updated quarterly.
"A collection of evidence-based databases that contain "high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making." The databases are published by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international not-for-profit organization, providing recent information about the effects of health care. The member volunteers evaluate the effectiveness and appropriateness of health care interventions, including medications, surgery, and education, through systematic reviews of scientific literature. The database sections can be searched together or separately.

Cochrane databases that index articles, reports, and full record reviews:

• Cochrane Reviews (Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews)
  Collection of full text reviews (some over 100 pages) that synthesize the results of many individual studies on a topic from numerous articles and unpublished sources.

• Other Reviews (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects/DARE)
  Contains citations and enhanced abstracts of reviews not covered by the Cochrane Collaboration. Maintained by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England.

• Clinical Trials (Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials)
  Provides citations to controlled trials in articles, conference proceedings and unpublished trials.
  

Cochrane databases that cover related material:

• Methods Studies (Cochrane Methodology Register)
  Bibliographic database of articles and books on methods used in controlled trials and in preparing reviews.

• Technology Assessments (Health Technology Assessment Database)
  "Brings together details of health technology asssessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world."

• Economic Evaluations (NHS Economic Evaluation Database)
  Abstracts of articles on economic evaluations of health care interventions, such as analysis of cost benefit, cost effectiveness, or cost utility.

• Cochrane Groups (About the Cochrane Collaboration)
  "The Cochrane Collaboration is divided into groups: The Cochrane Review Groups, each of which focuses on a specific health care area. Fields that draw together healthcare issues impacting on many review groups; a Consumer Network, that represents the interests of healthcare consumers; Methods Groups develop methodological techniques; Centres with geographic and linguistic responsibilities; and a Steering Group, which is the the policy and decision-making body of the Collaboration."