Subject Guides: HCE 643: Psychopharm, SUDX & IDDT: Home

Library Essentials

Finding Books

In order to find books held in the University of Maine System libraries you should begin with LibrarySearch, the online catalog.

If the material you need is not available at the USM Libraries, you should next search MaineCat and Request the material. If the book is not available through LibrarySearch or MaineCat, then you should create a free Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) account. See links below.

LibrarySearch (Library Catalog)
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all libraries. You can also search for journal articles here too.
MaineCat
If LibrarySearch doesn't have what you need, try MaineCat, the Catalog for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin plus many public libraries in Maine. USM students may Request delivery to USM campus libraries.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
You can widen your search to libraries worldwide using WorldCat. If you find a book you need, request it using the "Order through Illiad" link. Sign in or create a free ILLiad account.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.

Finding More E-Books

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection that includes over 50,000 titles spanning all academic subject areas. Individual UMS libraries have also purchased some ebooks that are restricted to a single user at a time.

Citing Sources

APA Style 7th ed - Purdue OWL

APA 7th Quick Guide

Welcome

http://www.freeimages.co.uk

Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to reviews of English language tests, new or revised and currently in print. In addition to reviews, acronym, authors, publication date, test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores are also indicated. Buros Center for Testing. Archives includes searchable yearbook updates from both publications from 1938 to the present.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. The database is updated daily. Coverage: From 1985
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.

Video Tutorials

Ask A Librarian

Your Librarian

Timothy Lynch

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Room 334, Glickman Library, Portland

207-780-5156

Subjects: Anthropology, Education & Human Development, English, Geographic Information Science (GIS), Geography, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology