Reference sources are invaluable for defining key concepts, providing brief overviews of a subject, and identifying major theories and research developments. They can provide you with the background you need to select and develop a topic of research, or help you explore internship or career opportunities.
Reference sources are useful tools to obtain background information and to develop a vocabulary of possible search terms. The following items are resources available within the University of Southern Maine system.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
POR Reference BF31 .E52 2001
Dictionary of Biological Psychology
POR Reference QP360 .D52 2001
Encyclopedia of Psychology
GOR Reference BF31. E52 2000
Handbook of Psychology
POR Reference BF121 .H1955; LEW Reference BF121 .H1955
This twelve volume set is arranged into: History of Psychology (1), Research Methodology in Psychology (2), Biological Psychology (3), Experimental Psychology (4), Personality and Social Psychology (5), Developmental Psychology (6), Educational Psychology (7), Clinical Psychology (8), Health Psychology (9), Assessment Psychology (10), Forensic Psychology (11), and Industrial and Organizational Psychology (12).
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
POR Reference BF311 .M556 1999
Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
Handbook of Psychology, Vol. 2: Research Methods in Psychology
Handbook of Psychology, Vol.3: Behavioral Neuroscience
Handbook of Psychology Vol 4: Experimental Psychology
Handbook of Psychology: Vol. 5: Personality and Social Psychology
Handbook of Psychology, Vol. 6: Developmental Psychology
Handbook of Psychology, Vol. 9: Health Psychology
Handbook of Psychology, Vol12: Industrial and Organizational Psychology