Subject Guides: NUR 321: Health Related Research: Find Articles

Why use library databases?

We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:

1) Your tuition helps pay for access to the journal articles contained in the databases.

2) They are clear about what they do - you know whether the journals contained within are peer-reviewed,

3) There are many journals in databases that are not free. If you just use Google, you will be missing many resources.

Online Indexes and Databases

CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated
Cochrane Collection Plus
Cochrane Collection Plus comprises 3 constituent databases: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Methodology Register. For more information see individual titles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health. It also includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides quick access to nursing-related questions, and includes care plans, management topics, patient education handouts, skills checklists, videos, continuing education modules, and reference books
PsycINFO
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. It includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
PubMed
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM.