Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CNN's A Taste of Portland Maine
History Channel's How Maine Got Its Shape
Gorham Normal School - the beginning of USM
Gorham Normal School, Gorham, ME; from a 1905 postcard published by the Hugh C. Leighton Company of Portland, Maine. The school is now the University of Southern Maine.Source wikimedia
Click on the postcard to see The Maine Postcard Project created by USM Professor Libby Bischof.
Books and EBooks
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Includes 7,885 e-books. The titles are also searchable in URSUS.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook collection that includes over 50,000 titles spanning all academic subject areas. Individual UMS libraries have also purchased some ebooks that are restricted to a single user at a time.
Directory of Bills (Maine State Legislature)
Directory of Bills provides full text access to Maine Legislature Legislative Documents. Dates range from the 119th Legislature in 1998 to present. It includes bill amendments, chaptered law, committees, testimony, bill sponsors, bill tracking, committee calendars and more.
A comprehensive contemporary news collection of current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Maine Census Data
Numeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present.
Maine Music Box
The Maine Music Box contains digitized cover art and scores, music manuscripts, and a small number of accompanying mp3 synthesized sound files from five major printed music collections in Maine.
Maine News Index Online
Maine News Index Online indexes Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts. 1992 to present. Articles published 1945-1992 in Portland Press Herald, Maine Sunday Telegram, Portland Evening Express, Portland Sunday Telegram, Maine Times, Down East, and Casco Bay Weekly, can be searched using the card file index that is housed in Portland Public Library's Portland Room.
Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present).
Maine Town Reports
Maine Town Reports contains full text reports from 42 towns. The ongoing project currently represents a range of geographic, cultural and business interests across all sixteen counties in the state. The focus has been on the earliest reports published up through 1950. The Maine Town Reports Digital Project is a collaboration between Fogler Library and the Maine State Library.
Great Seal of the State of Maine