Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the Internet
There is no authority control for the Internet. In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the authenticity of the source. The following selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity and comprehensiveness of coverage.
Site is from the Association for Library Service to Children, at the American Library Association. Provides much discussion of children's book awards and conferences and workshops devoted to steering the library community and taking the lead in analysis and recognition of childrens books.
CCBC (Cooperative Children's Book Center--School of Education--University of Wisconsin
Although this collection is noncirculating, the CCBC has provided several research guides that may be of interest.
Children's Book Council
This website is features selected authors, books and other fun promotional events. Although it is non-profit, site seems to be vendor driven.
Children's Literature Association
This is a good site for academic study of Children's Literature. Site offers conferences, call for papers, publications and links from a research point-of-view.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
This database site allows informational access to 4000 books chosen by 50 different children's awards. Allows searching by readership, keyword or subject.
Fairrosa Cyber Library
An interesting site with lots of full-text of books, fairy-tales and even some discussion. Site is searchable.
A Rainbow Celebration
Gay and Lesbian children's books annotated bibliography.
Oyate (Native American Books Reviewed)
Children's Literature from a Native American Perspective. Information, "books to avoid," reviews and catalog from Oyate publishing.
Plains Reading Council
A very welcoming site filled with many excellent links to Children's literature pages and Children's pages in general.
Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators
This is another great site to gain access to the academic and publishing world of Children's Literature. Provided are Discussion Lists, Conference Information, Excellent Links by subject, more.