Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use library databases?
We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:
1) They are consistent in describing publications; you don't have to worry about finding a citation that's missing a volume or page number.
2) They are clear about what they do - you know the time period covered, the journal titles included, etc.
3) They usually have clear links - via the Article Linker button - to the online full text that USM Libraries has purchased.
4) Contrary to what a lot of people think, there is a lot of information that isn't on the open web. And some of that information IS in our subscription databases.
Online Indexes and Databases
These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications relevant to your research topic. For a complete list of USM Libraries' databases, click here.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary in scope, it provides full text for more than 7,400 scholarly publications of which 6,300 are peer reviewed.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations.
Subjects include biomechanics, coaching, engineering, physical therapy, and physiology. Indexes over 2,000 journals as well as books, theses, and non-print resources.
Electronic Journal Search Tool
Need Help with Article Linker?
Looking for the full-text of an article, but only seeing Article Linker? View this video for tips on how to use it to find your article!