Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use a reference book?
Reference sources are invaluable for defining key
concepts, providing brief overviews of a subject, and identifying major theories
and research developments. They can provide you with the background you
need to select and develop a topic of research, or give you the vocabulary you need to understand further reading.
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing by
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
With a broad focus on the behavioral and social sciences as well as important contributions from the biological and medical sciences, The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing provides comprehensive, accessible and authoritative accounts of all the key topics in the field.
Handbook of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The Handbook of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities is an essential resource for any professional who works with this vulnerable population. This volume examines in detail the numerous advances in the field, summarizing major domains and emerging subspecialties into one eminently useful reference. The handbook: - Opens with chapters that offer a comprehensive review of current definitions, classifications, etiology, and findings on the most prevalent conditions, including cerebral palsy, pediatric brain injury, genetic syndromes, and autism spectrum disorder - Provides a survey of psychological and educational service delivery systems available to people with intellectual disabilities for example, several chapters focus on explaining how agencies work, the politics of service delivery, residential versus day treatment, and program evaluation - Offers a wide range of assessment and diagnostic tools and tactics, including cognitive and adaptive behavior assessments, assessing for psychopathology, developmental screening, family assessment, and forensic applications - Reviews the latest evidence-based prevention and intervention strategies, from social skills training to self-harm reduction to pharmacotherapy - Concludes with insightful chapters on the ethical issues social acceptance and advocacy
Encyclopedia of Disability by
Call Number: USM GOR Reference HV1568 .E528 2006
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the five-volume Encyclopedia of Disability. This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1,000 entries e"in a clear, accessible stylee"with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability. The Encyclopedia of Disability is a must-have reference for all academic libraries, large public libraries, and any social science, medical, legal, or governmental reference collections. Non-governmental organizations, charitable foundations, and law firms will also want to add this set to their collections.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders by
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
This new comprehensive two-volume set provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Featuring an easy-to-use format and written in understandable language, the "Encyclopedia includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.