Creating Journal Alerts: Alerts in ProQuest Databases

Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, monographs, theses, technical reports, and non-conventional literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for over 500 journals serving the "caring professions": health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Coverage dates vary; most titles from 1990s to present. Updated monthly.

EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.

Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.

GeoRef, a product of the American Geological Institute, covers geology and related disciplines including: geochemistry, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, and paleontology. GeoRef indexes over 3,500 journals, plus books, reports, theses and dissertations, maps, and conference proceedings. GeoRef corresponds to the following print indexes: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology.

Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports covering the marine and brackish-water environment. Topics covered include biological, chemical, and physical oceanography, ecology, geochemistry, geophysics, marine biology, and marine geology. Indexes over 500 journals.

PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. Accessibility: The National Center for PTSD is working hard to fully implement Section 508, making all of our electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities. If you find an article by National Center for PTSD staff that you would like to read that is not yet accessible, please contact ncptsd@va.gov and we will provide you with a 508 accessible copy. Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.

ProQuest Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) provides full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Iit inncludes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).

Social Services Abstracts covers journal articles and dissertations in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.

ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes more than 1,500 periodicals in the fields of political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Indexing begins in 1975, and is updated monthly.