Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Check Titles in the USM Libraries' Journal Collection
If you must Google, do so responsibly
Use the advanced search: it lets you limit your searches by domain names,allowing you to choose to avoid commercial sites, choose sites from a specific country, or retrieve only sites from non-profit organizations, for example. Cutting down the huge numbers of items you retrieve will save you time!
Use Google Scholar if you want only scholarly writings. Many, though not all, of these will have been published in journals or books, not just on the Internet.
Never pay for an article online without talking to us first! One of the downsides of using Google is that you may think you have to buy an article that's available through the USM libraries. When in doubt, check with the library staff.
Online Indexes and Databases
These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications relevant to your research topic.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary in scope, it provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly publications of which 2,400 are peer reviewed.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. Coverage: From 1981
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly.
Subjects include biomechanics, coaching, engineering, physical therapy, and physiology. Indexes over 2,000 journals as well as books, theses, and non-print resources.
Help with searching is available here.