Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Southern MaineLibraries

* Theatre: Find Articles

Databases

This is a short list of databases that provide searching and access to magazines and journals in Theater.  Please consult the full list of databases for access to more.  

To search full-text journals by issue or check our print holdings use:

Find Journals By Title.

Article Linker

When the cited article is not available as a full-text document in the database you are searching, Article Linker will search for a full-text version in all the other USM Libraries databases. If it is available, Article Linker will link directly to the article. If it is not available, it will list our print holdings or offer you Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) as an option.

For an online demonstration, review the Linker Tutorial podcast.

Why use library databases?

 We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:

1) They are consistent in describing publications; you don't have to worry about finding a citation that's missing a volume or page number.

2) They are clear about what they do - you know the time period covered, the journal titles included, etc.

3) They usually have clear links - via the Article Linker button - to the online full text that USM Libraries has purchased.

4) Contrary to what a lot of people think, there is a lot of information that isn't on the open web.  And some of that information IS in our subscription databases.