Subject Guides: SBS 430: Applied Social Policy: Journal Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC - Education (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- This link opens in a new window
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
- This link opens in a new window

Comparing Scholarly, Trade, & Popular Articles

Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Journal	Trade or Professional Magazines or Newspapers	Popular Magazines or Newspapers

Scholarly Trade Popular
This chart describes the differences between these publications.

Parts of an Article Reference (EBSCO)

Article Linker & Full-Text

Watch this video to better understand how to get the full-text of an article, when you see the article linker icon.

Article Linker Video

APA Style Resources

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), 7th ed. by American Psychological Association
Call Number: POR, GOR, & LAC Reference BF76.7 .P83
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2020

APA Style 7th ed - Purdue OWL
Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.
APA Style
(APA website)
Includes tutorials.