Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Resources in Chemistry
These resources contain basic overview information that can be useful when you're just beginning your research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) provides access to a range of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. Individual titles may be added or cancelled yearly.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Many entries from Oxford reference books in all subject areas.
You can also search URSUS for chemistry-specific encyclopedias and handbooks, many of which are accessible online! A few examples are below, but there are many more.
You can search for books in our library and other libraries using the links below. If you're not sure how to find what you're looking for, ask us!
URSUS Library Catalog
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all libraries and use interlibrary loan.
If URSUS doesn't have what you're looking for, use MaineCat to widen your search to all Maine libraries. You can request any book you find and it will be delivered to the USM library location of your choosing.
You can widen your search to libraries worldwide using WorldCat. If you find a book you need, request it using the "Order through Illiad" link.
Once you have a good understanding of your topic and have selected a few keywords, OneSearch is a great place to start your research! OneSearch is a convenient way to search almost all of the library’s resources using a single search box.
Below are a few of the "top" journals in chemistry by the number of times their articles have been cited. To see many more journals in chemistry, including sub-specializations, see our Journals by Title page and select "Physical Sciences & Mathematics" from the subject drop-down. On the results page a variety of Chemistry sub-disciplines are listed.
Below are just a few of our databases useful for chemistry research. For more databases with chemical sciences content, check out our Databases A-Z page and select "Chemistry" from the drop-down. You can also select "Environmental Science" or "Business" depending on which aspect of your assignment you are working on.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi- and inter-disciplinary database with academic journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. Can be a good starting point if you're not sure what direction you want to take your research yet.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of many environment-related research areas with full text for more than 400 journals.
FSTA: Food Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
FSTA provides indexing and abstracting for over 1000 active journals (with previous references from over 4000 additional journals) as well as standards, conference proceedings, theses, patents, and books in subject areas including related pure and applied sciences, pet foods, food psychology, food economics, food safety, and nutrition. Coverage 1969-present; updated weekly.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Covers literature (including patents) on all branches of chemistry, as well as related fields. Includes data from Chemical Abstracts and the MEDLINE database. Search options include keyword, CAS Registry number, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the highest impact research journals. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature to uncover information relevant to their research. Coverage: 2000-present
This is a freeware that can be downloaded to any computer that runs on Windows or Linux. This freeware enables the user to draw molecules and mechanisms, which is very useful for writing formal lab reports.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database with text and structure searching for over 58 million structures.
Fortune Global 500 List
Click the "Filter" icon in the upper right and then using the "Sector" drop-down, select "Chemicals."
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
HSDB is a toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas
MatWeb is a free source of materials properties, searchable by range of property values.
Ptable Dynamic Periodic Table
Dynamic periodic table that shows photos and information about states, properties, isotopes, orbitals, compounds formed, and more.
NLM database of compounds, substances, and bioassays, providing substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data.
References in the text should be cited in one of three ways:
- by an italic number - e.g. "Chemistry is great! (2)"
- or by superscript number - e.g. "Chemistry is great! 2"
- or by author name and date - e.g. "Chemistry is great! (Lucchesi, 2017)"
If using numbers, references should be numbered sequentially. If a reference is used more than once in your text, it does not need a new number each time; use the original number assigned to it. If citing more than one reference at a time, include reference numbers in increasing order separated by commas.
If you used numbers for your in-text citations, arrange your bibliography in numerical order (so that in-text citation 1 is listed first, in-text citation 2 is listed second, etc). If you used author name and date for your in-text citations, arrange your bibliography is alphabetical order by author's last name. ACS reference formatting for bibliographies from UW-Madison has excellent examples of citation formats for every source type (books, journal articles, websites, etc).
Searching Tips and Tricks
- Most databases allow for searching with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
- Use AND to focus your search and combine different aspects of your topic
- Use OR to broaden your search and find sources that use different words for the same concept.
- Use NOT to omit certain terms from your results.
- Use an asterisk (*) to truncate words if you want to search for all words with that root. For example, “environment*” would search for environment, environmental, environmentalism, etc.
- Put quotes around a phrase that you want the database to search as a phrase, rather than as individual words.
- Group synonyms inside parentheses using OR between each one
URSUS is the combined library catalog for the entire University of Maine system. You can search the entire system, or select University of Southern Maine Libraries in the drop-down.
Other helpful tips:
- If you find a book that is relevant to your needs, look at the "Subject" area of the book's record. Click on a few of the subjects to find other similar books.
- In many of the book records, you can look at the table of contents - click the link under the "Inside This Book" heading. This can help you determine if a book is right for your research.
- If USM doesn't have a book you want, click the "Request" button at the top of the page and we can get it for you through interlibrary loan.
Most databases, as well as URSUS and MaineCat, assign subjects to books and articles. A subject is a designated word or phrase that describes an idea or concept and groups all articles or books about that concept together.
- Subjects are also variously called descriptors, controlled vocabulary, headings, or index terms.
- To search by subject you have to know the exact subject term. Most databases that use subjects have a Thesaurus that you can use to look up subject terms. You can also do a keyword search, find a book or article that is relevant to your research, and look at the subject terms assigned to it.
- URSUS and MaineCat use Library of Congress Subject Headings and each database has their own list of subject headings, so you have to look up subjects in each database independently.
Chemistry Research News Feed
Frequently Asked Questions
, Environmental Science
, Food Studies
, Policy, Planning, and Management