Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
Connect students and library patrons to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from more than 18,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and reference sources, with more than 8,800 in full text. Academic OneFile also offers engaging multimedia, with over 59,000 images and 3,500+ audio files. Also included is a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; and links to over 1.2 million video files, from shows like Frontline and NOVA. With extensive coverage in key subject areas including the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects, students and patrons are able to find, share, or use accurate, current information with ease
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
A Writer's Reference with Exercises by C | Composing and Revising C1 Planning C2 Drafting C3 Writing paragraphs C4 Reviewing, revising, and editing C5 Preparing a portfolio; reflecting on your writing A | Academic Reading, Writing, and Speaking A1 Reading and writing critically A2 Reading and writing about multimodal texts A3 Reading arguments A4 Writing arguments A5 Speaking confidently A6 Writing in the disciplines R | Researched writing R1 Thinking like a researcher; gathering sources R2 Managing information; taking notes responsibly R3 Evaluating sources MLA | MLA Style MLA-1 Supporting a thesis MLA-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism MLA-3 Integrating sources MLA-4 Documenting sources MLA-5 Format and sample research essay APA CMS | APA Style and CMS Style APA-1 Supporting a thesis APA-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism APA-3 Integrating sources APA-4 Documenting sources APA-5 Format and sample research essay CMS-1 Supporting a thesis CMS-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism CMS-3 Integrating sources CMS-4 Documenting sources CMS-5 Format and sample research essay S | Sentence Style S1 Parallelism S2 Needed words S3 Problems with modifiers S4 Shifts S5 Mixed constructions S6 Sentence emphasis S7 Sentence variety W | Word choice W1 Glossary of usage W2 Wordy sentences W3 Active verbs W4 Appropriate language W5 Exact language G | Grammatical sentences G1 Subject-verb agreement G2 Verb form, tenses, and moods G3 Pronouns G4 Adjectives and adverbs G5 Sentence fragments G6 Run-on sentences M | Multilingual Writers and ESL topics M1 Verbs M2 Articles M3 Sentence structure M4 Using adjectives M5 Prepositions and idiomatic expressions M6 Paraphrasing sources effectively P | Punctuation and Mechanics P1 The comma P2 Unnecessary commas P3 The semicolon and the colon P4 The apostrophe P5 Quotation marks P6 Other punctuation marks P7 Spelling and hyphenation P8 Capitalization P9 Abbreviations and numbers P10 Italics B | Basic Grammar B1 Parts of speech B2 Sentence patterns B3 Subordinate word groups B4 Sentence types I | Index
Publication Date: 2021
Sign-in through the MyUSM portal for access to thousands of eBooks via the URSUS catalog or via one of our eBook databases. In URSUS, students have access to books listing 'USM Access' or 'UM System-wide Access.'
Searching for Books: URSUS, MaineCat, WorldCat