You can search for books in our library and other libraries using the links below. If you're not sure how to find what you're looking for, ask us!
Once you have a good understanding of your topic and have selected a few keywords, OneSearch is a great place to start your research! OneSearch is a convenient way to search almost all of the library’s resources using a single search box.
Below are just a few of our databases useful for human development research. For more databases, check out our Databases A-Z page and select a few relevant subjects from the drop-down. You may want to try biology, psychology, sociology, etc.
USM Libraries Checklist for Evaluating Web Resources
s the Web a good research tool? This question is dependent on the researcher's objective. As in traditional print resources one must use a method of critical analysis to determine its value. Here is a checklist for evaluating web resources to help in that determination.
Is the information reliable?
Check the author's credentials and affiliation. Is the author an expert in the field?
Does the resource have a reputable organization or expert behind it?
Are the sources of information stated? Can you verify the information?
Can the author be contacted for clarification?
Check for organizational or author biases.
Is the material at this site useful, unique, accurate or is it derivative, repetitious, or doubtful?
Is the information available in other formats?
Is the purpose of the resource clearly stated? Does it fulfill its purpose?
What items are included in the resource? What subject area, time period, formats or types of material are covered?
Is the information factual or opinion?
Does the site contain original information or simply links?
How frequently is the resource updated?
Does the site have clear and obvious pointers to new content?
Is the information easy to get to? How many links does it take to get to something useful?
What is the quality of the graphical images? Do these images enhance the resource or distract from the content?
Is the target audience or intended users clearly indicated?
Is the arrangement of links uncluttered?
Does the site have its own search engine?
Is the site easily browsable or searchable?
Is the site available on a consistent basis?
Is response time fast?
Does the site have a text-based alternative?
How many links lead to a dead-end?
Is this a fee-based site? Can non-members still have access to part of the site?
Must you register a name and password before using the site?
Check the header and footer information to determine the author and source.
In the URL, a tilde ~ usually indicated a personal web directory rather than being part of the organization's official web site.
In order to verify an author's credentials, you may need to consult some printed sources such as Who's Who in America or the Biography Index.
Check and compare the web site to others which are both similar and different.
Purdue OWL is the most widely recognized and used guide to APA format. Includes in-text and bibliography formats for a variety of document types, as well as a sample paper for guidance. Some basics are below, see the OWL guide for more.
References in the text should be cited by author and year, e.g. (Lucchesi, 2017).
Including a page number is required for direct quotes, e.g. (Lucchesi, 2017, p. 221)
Arrange your references list in alphabetical order by the lead author's last name. If you used author name and date for your in-text citations, arrange your bibliography is alphabetical order by author's last name. If the citation extends to more than one line, each line after the first must be indented.
Below are a few example citations for common source types, but see Purdue OWL for many more examples.
Henry, W. A., III. (1990, April 9). Making the grade in today's schools. Time, 135, 28-31.
Jaeger, J. (2010, August). Social media use in the financial industry. Compliance Week, 54.
Bowman, L. (1990, March 7). Bills target Lake Erie mussels. The Pittsburgh Press, p. A4.
Schultz, S. (2005, December 28). Calls made to strengthen state energy policies. The Country Today, pp. 1A, 2A.
URSUS is the combined library catalog for the entire University of Maine system. You can search the entire system, or select University of Southern Maine Libraries in the drop-down.
Other helpful tips:
Most databases, as well as URSUS and MaineCat, assign subjects to books and articles. A subject is a designated word or phrase that describes an idea or concept and groups all articles or books about that concept together.
There are many ways you can get research materials from other libraries. In the vast majority of cases, there is no charge to you for this service!