Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Resources for EYE 105
These resources contain basic overview information that can be useful when you're just beginning your research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) provides access to a range of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. Individual titles may be added or cancelled yearly.
Oxford Reference Online
Many entries from Oxford reference books in all subject areas.
Once you have a good understanding of your topic and have selected a few keywords, OneSearch is a great place to start your research! OneSearch is a convenient way to search almost all of the library’s resources using a single search box.
Below are just a few of our databases useful for peer-reviewed article research. For more databases, check out our Databases A-Z page and select a subject from the drop-down.
Web of Science Core Collection
Covers multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the highest impact research journals. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature to uncover information relevant to their research. Coverage: 2000-present
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Humanities International Index
The Humanities International Index provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,900 titles, from 1925 to present. Titles include articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides international citation access to journal articles, books, dissertations and web sites in the subjects of language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and drama. Coverage from 1926. Updated continually.
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.
Social Sciences databases:
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for over 500 journals serving the "caring professions": health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Coverage dates vary; most titles from 1990s to present. Updated monthly.
Business Source Complete
Start here for a comprehensive business database. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. BSC also provides full text access to the Harvard Business Review and the top five business magazines.
Political Science Database
Political Science Database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals. Coverage: 1985 - present.
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Updated weekly
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts)
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text indexes articles from 1984 to present about art, architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative, from periodicals published throughout the world.
Art Index Retrospective
International in scope. Covers architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative.
You can search for books in our library and other libraries using the links below. If you're not sure how to find what you're looking for, ask us!
URSUS Library Catalog
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all libraries and use interlibrary loan.
If URSUS doesn't have what you're looking for, use MaineCat to widen your search to all Maine libraries. You can request any book you find and it will be delivered to the USM library location of your choosing.
You can widen your search to libraries worldwide using WorldCat. If you find a book you need, request it using the "Order through Illiad" link.
If the specific data repositories above aren't giving you what you need, check out the mega-lists of other repositories below:
Searching Tips and Tricks
- Most databases allow for searching with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
- Use AND to focus your search and combine different aspects of your topic
- Use OR to broaden your search and find sources that use different words for the same concept.
- Use NOT to omit certain terms from your results.
- Use an asterisk (*) to truncate words if you want to search for all words with that root. For example, “environment*” would search for environment, environmental, environmentalism, etc.
- Put quotes around a phrase that you want the database to search as a phrase, rather than as individual words.
- Group synonyms inside parentheses using OR between each one
URSUS is the combined library catalog for the entire University of Maine system. You can search the entire system, or select University of Southern Maine Libraries in the drop-down.
Other helpful tips:
- If you find a book that is relevant to your needs, look at the "Subject" area of the book's record. Click on a few of the subjects to find other similar books.
- In many of the book records, you can look at the table of contents - click the link under the "Inside This Book" heading. This can help you determine if a book is right for your research.
- If USM doesn't have a book you want, click the "Request" button at the top of the page and we can get it for you through interlibrary loan.
Most databases, as well as URSUS and MaineCat, assign subjects to books and articles. A subject is a designated word or phrase that describes an idea or concept and groups all articles or books about that concept together.
- Subjects are also variously called descriptors, controlled vocabulary, headings, or index terms.
- To search by subject you have to know the exact subject term. Most databases that use subjects have a Thesaurus that you can use to look up subject terms. You can also do a keyword search, find a book or article that is relevant to your research, and look at the subject terms assigned to it.
- URSUS and MaineCat use Library of Congress Subject Headings and each database has their own list of subject headings, so you have to look up subjects in each database independently.
Frequently Asked Questions
, Environmental Science
, Food Studies
, Policy, Planning, and Management
, Public Health