Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Southern MaineLibraries

HON 215: Home

Key Resources for HON 215

These resources contain basic overview information that can be useful when you're just beginning your research.

You can also search URSUS for dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks, many of which are accessible online!

You can search for books in our library and other libraries using the links below. If you're not sure how to find what you're looking for, ask us!

Once you have a good understanding of your topic and have selected a few keywords, OneSearch is a great place to start your research! OneSearch is a convenient way to search almost all of the library’s resources using a single search box. 

Below are just a few of our multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary databases that should have articles on most subjects. For more databases, check out our Databases A-Z page and select a relevant subject from the drop-down based on your area of research.

Purdue OWL is the most widely recognized and used guide to APA format. Includes in-text and bibliography formats for a variety of document types, as well as a sample paper for guidance. Some basics are below, see the OWL guide for more.

In-text citations:

References in the text should be cited by author and year, e.g. (Lucchesi, 2017).

Including a page number is required for direct quotes, e.g. (Lucchesi, 2017, p. 221)

Bibliography:

Arrange your references list in alphabetical order by the lead author's last name. If you used author name and date for your in-text citations, arrange your bibliography is alphabetical order by author's last name. If the citation extends to more than one line, each line after the first must be indented.

Below are a few example citations for common source types, but see Purdue OWL for many more examples. Note that this program doesn't allow me to indent the second line of the citation, but all lines after the first must be indented.

Book:

Calfee, R. C., & Valencia, R. R. (1991). APA guide to preparing manuscripts for journal publication. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Duncan, G. J., & Brooks-Gunn, J. (Eds.). (1997). Consequences of growing up poor. New York, NY: Russell Sage Foundation.

Journal article:

Harlow, H. F. (1983). Fundamentals for preparing psychology journal articles. Journal of Comparative and Physiological Psychology, 55, 893-896.

Scruton, R. (1996). The eclipse of listening. The New Criterion, 15(3), 5-13.

 

 

Searching Tips and Tricks

  • Most databases allow for searching with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
    • Use AND to focus your search and combine different aspects of your topic
    • Use OR to broaden your search and find sources that use different words for the same concept.
    • Use NOT to omit certain terms from your results.
  • Use an asterisk (*) to truncate words if you want to search for all words with that root. For example, “environment*” would search for environment, environmental, environmentalism, etc.
  • Put quotes around a phrase that you want the database to search as a phrase, rather than as individual words.
  • Group synonyms inside parentheses using OR between each one

Example:

URSUS is the combined library catalog for the entire University of Maine system. You can search the entire system, or select University of Southern Maine Libraries in the drop-down.

Other helpful tips:

  • If you find a book that is relevant to your needs, look at the "Subject" area of the book's record. Click on a few of the subjects to find other similar books.
  • In many of the book records, you can look at the table of contents - click the link under the "Inside This Book" heading. This can help you determine if a book is right for your research.
  • If USM doesn't have a book you want, click the "Request" button at the top of the page and we can get it for you through interlibrary loan.

Most databases, as well as URSUS and MaineCat, assign subjects to books and articles. A subject is a designated word or phrase that describes an idea or concept and groups all articles or books about that concept together.

  • Subjects are also variously called descriptors, controlled vocabulary, headings, or index terms.
  • To search by subject you have to know the exact subject term. Most databases that use subjects have a Thesaurus that you can use to look up subject terms. You can also do a keyword search, find a book or article that is relevant to your research, and look at the subject terms assigned to it.
  • URSUS and MaineCat use Library of Congress Subject Headings and each database has their own list of subject headings, so you have to look up subjects in each database independently.

There are many ways you can get research materials from other libraries. In the vast majority of cases, there is no charge to you for this service!

  • From URSUS, use the  button at the top of an item's page.
  • From MaineCat, use the  button in the middle of an item's page.
  • From a database:
    • Select the item you want and find and click the  or "Article Linker" button (the placement on the page will vary by database).
    • If the library does not have access to the item, find and click the "Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request" link under Step 3 in the right panel.