Subject Guides: Newspaper Resources: Home

Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Global Newsstream includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).
Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newsstand provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times database provides full text from 2001 to present. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. For full text and indexing of the New York Times from 1980 to present see the ProQuest Global Newsstream database.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal provides non-PDF full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984 to present. Some content (ads, etc.) may not be included.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington Post provides non-PDF full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to present. Some content (ads, etc.) may not be included.
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Christian Science Monitor provides indexing and full text coverage from 1988 to the present. The Christian Science Monitor is a major daily (M-F) newspaper offering international and US news and features.

Maine News Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maine News Index Online indexes Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts from 1992 to present.
Maine Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present).

The USM Free Press Student Newspaper
The University of Southern Maine Free Press is a community newspaper written and produced for an audience of students, staff and faculty, created by a team of USM students. We provide the news about our university and it’s community to our audience in a weekly print newspaper. We will justify our name by providing a public forum for free exchange of information and ideas within a university community of diverse viewpoints, goals and directions.

British Library Newspapers (19th Century) This link opens in a new window
19th Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local British newspapers of the nineteenth century, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The content includes 60 titles selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published. The collection has daily and weekly papers with a focus on London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America allows you to search American newspapers published between 1690-present. Availability of full text PDF images varies.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

Maine Newspaper Project
Digitized historical Maine newspapers by county. 1800s-2000s
Maine Newspaper Project 1999
The report lists the Maine titles found by the Maine Newspaper Project, the location where they were found, and whether they were original copies or microfilm. Not included is the extent of each repository's holdings.A repository in the list could have a complete run, a single issue, or anything in between.

Newspapers on Microform

The USM Glickman Library has a collection of older newspapers which you can view using one of our microform machines. If you would like to use these machines and research any of these newspapers, please consult a Library Staff Member upon your arrival to the Glickman Library.

https://libguides.usm.maine.edu/microforms

Due to their physical nature, these items are not available for online viewing unless they are included in a database listed above.

Newspapers on Microform:

Times [London]
- 1914 - 2008
Sunday Times [London]
- 1975 - 2008
Wall Street Journal
- 1924 - 2007
Washington Post
- 1973 - 2007
New York Times
- 1851 - 2008
Boston Globe
- 1960 - 2007
Maine Times
- 1968 - 2002
Portland Press Herald / Maine Sunday Telegram
- 1950 - 2007

Historic Lists of Newspapers:

American newspapers, 1821-1936: A union list of files available in the United States and Canada (book) by Winifred Gregory (Bibliographical Society of America)
Call Number: POR Reference Z6951 .A498 1967 (Portland)
Publication Date: 1967
This list presents, in a geographical arrangement of places of publication, files of newspapers from 1821 to date (1936) found in the libraries of the United States and Canada, and as far as possible, those that are preserved in county courthouses, in newspaper offices, and in private collections.
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals (book) by James P. Danky & Maureen E. Hady (Eds); Henry Louis Gates (Foreword by)
Call Number: Request via URSUS
ISBN: 0674007883
Publication Date: 1999
"We wish to plead our own cause. Too long have others spoken for us." These words are from the front page of Freedom's Journal, the first African-American newspaper published in the United States, in 1827, a milestone event in the history of an oppressed people. From then on a prodigious and hitherto almost unknown cascade of newspapers, magazines, letters, and other literary, historical, and popular writing poured from presses chronicling black life in America. The authentic voice of African-American culture is captured in this first comprehensive guide to a treasure trove of writings by and for a people, as found in sources in the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean. This bibliography of over 6,000 entries is an indispensable guide.
Newspapers in Microform. United States (book) by Library of Congress
Call Number: POR Reference Z6951 .U56a 1948-1983 v.1 and v.2
Publication Date: 1973
Compiles the United States' sections of the 1948/1972 publications, the 1973/1977 quinquennial, the annual issues for 1978-1982, and the reports received in 1983.
Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries (book) by Library of Congressby); Steven M. Charno
Call Number: Request via URSUS
ISBN: 0292784031
Publication Date: 1969

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in depth reports on current issues in the news each week from 1923 to present. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular Magazines provides access to a variety of current, hot-topic, popular magazines.

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 1950s. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full-text digital access to nearly every book, directory, bible, sheet music, sermon, pamphlet or broadside published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections including a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Archives include British Politics and Society; Asia and the West; Europe and Africa; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, which includes more than 9,500 English, French and German titles of fiction (including gothic novels), short prose, dramatic works, and poetry.

Maine Newspapers & Periodicals - USM Libraries Special Collections

Amjambo Africa!
Amjambo Africa! is Maine’s free newspaper for and about New Mainers from Africa. Paper and digital editions of the newsletter are published on a monthly basis in several languages including English, French, Kinyarwanda, Portuguese, Swhahili, and Somali.
Ma Chadash (What's New!)
A monthly newsletter produced by Temple Shalom Synagogue Center in Auburn, ME that is "full of information about happenings at Temple Shalom".
Maine LGBTQ+ Periodicals
The USM Special Collections, through the Jean Byers Sampson Center, has 40 different LGBTQ+ periodicals and newspapers freely available and online accessible through the Digital Commons. With rare and unique collections such as Our Paper, Mainley Gay, and The Maine Lesbian Feminist Newsletter, it is a treasure-trove of primary sources which speak to the Queer community of Maine.
The Torch: The Civil Rights Team Project (CRTP) Newsletter
The Maine Office of the Attorney General administers the Civil Rights Team Project (CRTP). The CRTP’s mission is to increase the safety of elementary, middle school, and high school students by reducing bias-motivated behaviors and harassment in our schools. The Torch is the CRTP newsletter, published three to four times per year.
Maine Franco-American Newspapers
The USM Franco-American Collection has several historical, French-language newspapers freely available and online accessible through the Digital Commons. This special collection includes Le Messager, L'Action, Le Boréal Express, Le Cercle Canadian (Lewiston, ME), Le Défenseur (Lewiston, ME), and l'Unité. These newspapers provide a unique snapshot into the lives of Franco-American Mainers, spanning over one-hundred years from the 1880's through the early 1980's.

How to cite a Newspaper or Magazine

Fact & Bias Checking

You can use these sites to check to see where your news source falls in terms of bias and their record on accuracy reporting the facts:

All Sides
https://www.allsides.com/media-bias/media-bias-ratings

Media Bias
https://mediabiasfactcheck.com/

Politifact
https://www.politifact.com/

FactCheck
https://www.factcheck.org/