Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias and more...
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Premium contains over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, all published by Oxford University Press. Areas of coverage include science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Print Encyclopedias and more...
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by
Call Number: HD9005 .E645 2010 (Portland)
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
In 2009, First Lady Michelle Obama established an organic vegetable garden at the White House, reflecting the impact and popularity of the "green" food movement at even the highest levels. Her action is no surprise. Global sales of organic products topped $23 billion in 2008 and have been growing 20 to 25 percent annually for the past decade.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by
Call Number: PS153 S39 E53 2009 (Portland)
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
In this two-volume work, hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts.
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
Call Number: KF4117 .E53 2008 (Gorham)
Publication Date: 2008-06-27
Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice Magazine, January 2010
The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law.
Electronic Encycopedias and more...
Encyclopedia of Sports Films by
Publication Date: 2010-12-29
Whether chronicling an athlete's rise, fall, and redemption or following a team's improbable triumph on the field, sports have been a favorite theme of filmmakers almost since movies were first produced.
Ask the Reference Librarian on duty to suggest more titles.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Publication Date: 2010-01-20
This second edition of the highly-acclaimed Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropologyprovides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes 275 substantial entries, over 300 short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and nearly 600 glossary items.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.