Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Databases for Study + Practice
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Study + Research Skills
Here are some simple tips to doing well in your academic life!
Please check out this brief guide to using the URSUS library catalog at USM!
Academic Search Complete
This useful guide will help you learn how to use the Academic Search Complete database at the USM libraries. This is a great resource for finding articles for your research!
This short guide will show you how to access the JSTOR Collection, a database of scholarly articles available to all students, at the USM Libraries!
Check out this information on why sleep is so important for your health and academic success!
Were you ever curious how our memory works? Check out this informational sheet to learn more about the way we process information!
Please use this worksheet if you are interested in trying a simple version of the "Cornell Note Taking System". You can record your class or reading notes, any of your questions, and the key points you feel are important from your reading and lectures!
This short explanation of Learning Styles may be helpful to you as you consider ways to improve your note-taking and study habits.
Time Management Exercise (Example)
Here is an example of how to create a weekly schedule to help you manage your time, and discover when you are most free to work on assignments for class.
Time Management Worksheet
Consider using this blank worksheet to create a layout of your own schedule for the week. It may help you see when you have the most free time to work on assignments.