Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need Help with Article Linker?
Looking for the full-text of an article, but only seeing Article Linker? View this video for tips on how to use it to find your article!
IMPORTANT NOTE: With rare exceptions, you won't find articles about specific local agencies or programs in scholarly journals. To look up information about your agency/organization other than that available at their website, try Maine Newsstand, which provides indexing and full text of several Maine newpapers.
Online Indexes and Databases - EBSCO
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 U.S. and international journals dealing with Criminology, Criminal justice, Corrections, and related subjects, as well as books and conference papers. Most title coverage from c. 2000; limited earlier coverage. Updated
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly
Online Indexes and Databases - ProQuest
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts covers journal articles and dissertations in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly. Dates of Coverage: 1987 - current.
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. Accessibility: The National Center for PTSD is working hard to fully implement Section 508, making all of our electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities. If you find an article by National Center for PTSD staff that you would like to read that is not yet accessible, please contact email@example.com and we will provide you with a 508 accessible copy. Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts)
ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.