Subject Guides: BUS 260: Marketing (Amendah): Home

Databases for Product Research

These library databases provide in-depth research information in a wide variety of formats that may be useful for various aspects of your project, including where you describe your product, environmental factors, conduct a situational analysis, conduct market research, and develop pricing, promotion, and distribution strategies.

OneSearch
OneSearch searches across most of the library's database subscriptions. You'll find a lot of results, but a well thought out search strategy is important.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database with full text coverage of journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing. Additional content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Business Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
IBISWorld Industry Research Reports & Business Environment Profiles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries and over 70 global industries. Includes Business Environment Profiles that provide insight into key drivers, including exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive contemporary news collection of current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, with relevant information for consumer psychology.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field, including related marketing information.

Google Scholar
Google's academic search, will find scholarly articles, books, and reports. If using off-campus, go to settings and search for University of Southern Maine under "library links" to connect to our subscriptions.

Watch this video for a tutorial on how to find full text for articles in library databases.

Segmentation Resources

Use these resources to explore and identify the demographic and psychographic characteristics of the new product, and choose and explain your targeting strategy.

PolicyMap
U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
Wage Data by Area and Occupation
Monthly and Annual Retail Trade [U.S. Census Bureau]
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
American Time Use Survey

Data.gov This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Intended to increase access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Includes not only datasets but interesting ways to view data.
Our World in Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY).

Databases for inspiration and ideas

These databases may help you with coming up with ideas for new products. Use the browse features to see current topics and areas of interest.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in depth reports on current issues in the news each week from 1923 to present. Reports often contain lengthy discussion plus graphs, pro/con articles, a chronology, and links to organizations and other associated resources. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational video content in all subject areas. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Academic Video Online: Premium contains the full contents of more than 27 Alexander Street collections.

Selected Academic Journals

This is a small sample of relevant academic journals from our database collections. You can browse current issues for inspiration or search with your keywords within a specific journal.

Journal of Marketing Research
Journal of Business Research
Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services
Journal of Marketing
Journal of Consumer Research
Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science
Journal Title Search
Use this link to search for other Journals by their title (e.g. Journal of Marketing). If we have the journal in our collections, you'll see a link after you search.

Your Librarian

Maureen Perry

Email Me

Contact:

Library, Lewiston-Auburn College, Lewiston

(207) 753-6546

Subjects: College Transitions, Communication & Media Studies, Leadership, Occupational Therapy, Social & Behavioral Sciences