Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and Magazine Databases
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive contemporary news collection of current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from 1996 to present.
Maine Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present).
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984 to present
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Washington Post provides non-PDF full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to present. Some content (ads, etc.) may not be included.
Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to a collection of popular magazines.
Newspapers on Microform
The USM Glickman Library has a collection of older newspapers which you can view using one of our microform machines. If you would like to use these machines and research any of these newspapers, please consult a Library Staff Member upon your arrival to the Glickman Library.
Due to their physical nature, these items are not available for online viewing unless they are included in a database listed above.
Newspapers on Microform:
- Times [London]
- Sunday Times [London]
- Wall Street Journal
- Washington Post
- New York Times
- 1851 - 1854; 1874 - 1888; 1925; 1965 - 2008
- Boston Globe
- Maine Times
- Portland Press Herald / Maine Sunday Telegram
Public and academic libraries in Maine have more newspapers on microfilm. For a complete list use the link below:
Historic Lists of Newspapers:
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by
Publication Date: 1999-02-25
"We wish to plead our own cause. Too long have others spoken for us." These words are from the front page of Freedom's Journal, the first African-American newspaper published in the United States, in 1827, a milestone event in the history of an oppressed people. From then on a prodigious and hitherto almost unknown cascade of newspapers, magazines, letters, and other literary, historical, and popular writing poured from presses chronicling black life in America. The authentic voice of African-American culture is captured in this first comprehensive guide to a treasure trove of writings by and for a people, as found in sources in the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean. This bibliography of over 6,000 entries is the indispensable guide to the stories of slavery, freedom, Jim Crow, segregation, liberation, struggle, and triumph. Besides describing many new discoveries--from church documents to early civil rights ephemera, from school records to single-mother newsletters, from artists' journals to labor publications--this work informs researchers where and how to find them (for example, through online databases, microfilm, or traditional catalogs).
Newspapers in microform. United States by
Call Number: REF. Z6951 .U56a 1948-1983 v.1 and v.2 (Portland)
Publication Date: 1973
IN LIBRARY USE ONLY
Cumulates the United States' sections of the 1948/1972 publications, the 1973/1977 quinquennial, the annual issues for 1978-1982, and the reports received in 1983.