Subject Guides: SPM 350: Health Promotion Programs (Madden): Home

Library Essentials

PICO

Pico.jpg

Citation Style AMA

Citation Manager

Zotero

Databases for Public Health

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Alt HealthWatch
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals. This product offering also includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
MEDLINE with Full Text
MEDLINE with Full Text is a robust database providing full text for hundreds of top biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with no embargo, so doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers can access information as soon as it is published.
PsycINFO
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly
PubMed
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.

ALSO, IF APPROPRIATE FOR SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS

Cochrane Collection Plus
Cochrane Collection Plus comprises 3 constituent databases: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Methodology Register. For more information see individual titles.

Ask A Librarian

Schedule a meeting for research help.

SPM 350: Health Promotion Programs (Madden): Home

Library Essentials

PICO

Citation Style AMA

Citation Manager

Databases for Public Health

Ask A Librarian

Worksheet

Evaluating Tools to Use with Information