Skip to main content
University of Southern MaineLibraries

Tests and Test Reviews (Education): Background Reading

The purpose of this guide is to recommend selected available resources to help you locate test instruments as well as test reviews and evaluations. For further research assistance, please contact Tim Lynch or your instructor.

Print Reference Titles

You may hear this source referred to simply as "Buros" in reference to Oscar Buros, the original editor, and founder of the Institute of Mental Measurements. This highly regarded resource for locating critical reviews of test instruments has been in print since 1938. USM has all print versions of Mental Measurement Yearbook from 1938 to 2005. Each new volume supplements rather than supersedes the previous volume. Test entries include: title, intended population, author and publisher, acronym, scoring, availability, cost, critical reviews and cross references to reviews in earlier editions.

Print Reference Titles

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print (Also available online from the USM Libraries Databases) Note: the Buros Search Website has very up-to-date information on Mental Measurement Tests Reviews.  Coverage is from Ninth Edition to the Present.
GOR and POR Reference Z5814 P8 B932

You may hear this source referred to simply as "Buros" in reference to Oscar Buros, the original editor, and founder of the Institute of Mental Measurements. This highly regarded resource for locating critical reviews of test instruments has been in print since 1938. USM has all print versions of Mental Measurement Yearbook from 1938 to 2005. Each new volume supplements rather than supercedes the previous volume. Test entries include: title, intended population, author and publisher, acronym, scoring, availability, cost, critical reviews and cross references to reviews in earlier editions.

 Test-Specific References

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences 2nd Ed
GOR Reference LB 3051 .L4543 2000
Provides both information about and examples from tests in the Social Sciences.

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques: Instruments & Index [3 vols.]
GOR Reference HQ 728 .H267 2001 v.1-3
Provides the actual Instrument for this topical area.

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook
POR Reference BF 176 .C67 2013 (Vols. 1 and 2)
Volume 1: Couples, Families and Children. Volume 2: Adults. These volumes provide over 320 "rapid assessment instruments" including questionnaires and scales, which assess problems commonly encountered in clinical practice. Critiques written by the authors are also included.

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business.
GOR Reference BF 176 T43 1997
Concise descriptions of assessment instruments available from over 221 publishers. The format is user-friendly and the eight different indexes make it easy to identify test instruments by type and by specific criteria.

Academic Achievement and Aptitude Testing: Practical Applications and Test Reviews
GOR Reference LB 3060.3 .A26 1989

Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Selected Psychological Tests
GOR Reference BF 176 .T38 1982
Annotated references from 1967-1979 for the Interpersonal Check List, MMPI Short Forms and The Blacky Pictures.

A Counselor's Guide to Career Assessment Instruments
GOR Reference HF 5381 C6965 2001
Covers all types of test instruments for use in career guidance. Each entry provides descriptive information followed by a full or abridged review and references.

Tests and Measurements in Child Development.
GOR Reference BF 722 .J643
Handbooks 1 & 2 provide brief descriptive information and references for approximately 1,200 unpublished measures of child behavior from birth to 18 years of age.

Appraisal Procedures for Counselors and Helping Professionals (4th Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 176 .D78 2000
This work helps professionals choose and administer tests for their clients, as well as provide a list of often-used tests to choose from.

Essentials of Myers-Briggs Type Indicator Assessment
GOR Stacks BF 698.8 .M94 Q45 2000
Explains how to administer, score and interpret the test, as well as providing help describing characteristics of clients and therapists who are characterized by the Myers-Briggs Indicator.

Handbook of Psychological Assessment
POR Stacks BF 176 .G76 2003
The third edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment describes the work as including "updated systems for evaluating the classic tests;" "new and revised tests;" and integrating test results into a treatment plan. (APCHP).

Personality Assessment
GOR Stacks BF 698.4 .L34 1997
"Describes the major methods and techniques of personality assessment, discuss their underlying rationale and development." (PA).

Personality Tests and Reviews
POR Reference BF698.5 .B87 1970 (volume 1) and 1975 (volume 2)
"Includes an alphabetical list of test descriptions and names indexes
."