Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use library databases?
We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:
1) They are consistent in describing publications; you don't have to worry about finding a citation that's missing a volume or page number.
2) They are clear about what they do - you know the time period covered, the journal titles included, etc.
3) They usually have clear links - via the Article Linker button - to the online full text that USM Libraries has purchased.
4) Contrary to what a lot of people think, there is a lot of information that isn't on the open web. And some of that information IS in our subscription databases.
Online Indexes and Databases
These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications relevant to your research topic.
If you have no idea which discipline is the best match, you want multidisciplinary sources, or you're just not finding anything in a single database, try Onesearch.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 7,400 scholarly publications of which 6,300 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in depth reports on current issues in the news each week from 1923 to present. Reports often contain lengthy discussion plus graphs, pro/con articles, a chronology, and links to organizations and other associated resources. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected journals in North America. Coverage includes education, specifically adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, special education, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods. Full-text coverage from 1983, citation coverage from 1969.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full text digital archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage generally begins with the first issuse running to within 3 years of present. Current issues of journals are often available from other USM databases.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, human development and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
Electronic Journal Search Tool
Article Linker/ILL Videos