Subject Guides: Counseling: Databases & Websites

Useful Websites

Database List for Education and Human Resource Development

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, periodicals, peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Education Research Complete
Provides full-text access to selected journals in North America. Coverage includes education, specifically adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, special education, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods. Full-text coverage from 1983, citation coverage from 1969.

ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides a database of journal and non-journal education literature for K-12 teachers, school administrators, education faculty, school psychologists and education students. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. This database contains more than 1.2 million citations going back to 1966. Non-journal documents (from years 1993-present) The EBSCO version connects to many full-text journal articles through Linked Full Text.

CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981.
ERIC - Education (ProQuest)
Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that indexes medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Provides full-text access to reviews of English language tests, new or revised and currently in print. In addition to reviews, acronym, authors, publication date, test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores are also indicated. Buros Center for Testing. Archives includes searchable yearbook updates from both publications from 1938 to the present.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. The database is updated daily. Coverage: From 1985.
PsycINFO
ndex to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
PubMed
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.