Oxford Reference Premium contains over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, all published by Oxford University Press. Areas of coverage include science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and more.
LibrarySearch is a great place to start your research, as it is a convenient way to search almost all of the library’s resources using a single search box. You can find books, academic journal articles, patents, and trade journals.
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals,scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
The ACM Digital Library provides publications from the Association for Computing Machinery: all ACM journals and magazines, including an archive from the 1950’s forward (where available); and all SIG (special interest group) conference proceedings and newsletters. It also includes the ACM Guide to Computing Literature.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.
SciTech Connect contains citations to journal articles, technical reports, data sets, patents, and media resulting from Department of Energy (DOE) research. Subject areas covered include biology & medicine, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, power and renewable energy, and more.
Policy File Index provides primarily full-text access to research on public policy research and analysis, both domestic and international, from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Browse by organization or by political leaning. Coverage: 1990-present.
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all UMS libraries. You can also search for journal articles here too.
If LibrarySearch doesn't have what you need, try MaineCat, the Catalog for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin plus many public libraries in Maine. USM students may Request delivery to USM campus libraries.
Bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world. Includes all types of information resources. Updated daily.
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.
This patent database provided by the European Patent Office covers patents from over 20 countries and the World Patent Organization. Links to the full text of the patents and applications are provided.
For patents from 1976 to the present it provides searching by classification system, title and abstract words, inventor and company name and many other fields. For patents prior to 1976 you must search by patent number or the classification system. There is no searching by inventor or title for the older patents.
