Subject Guides: SBS 310: Childhood and Society: Home

Library Essentials

USM Libraries' Home Page
Library websites with resource and service information..
USM Libraries Hours & Locations
Hours & Locations of the Portland, Gorham, & Lewiston-Auburn Campus (LAC) campuses.
Sign-in to MyUSM Portal
For best results, sign-in to MyUSM portal before beginning your work. Use your username, typically your firstname.lastname. No need to use @maine.edu.
USM Library Check Out Policies
USM's borrowing policies.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.
Ereserves
Access Ereserves for your courses. If you have signed in through the MyUSM portal, you won't need to sign in again! Ereserves are also in the BrightSpace for your course(s).
Tutoring at USM: Subjects
The Learning Commons, The Learning Commons, which is part of the Library, provides free tutoring for students in Writing, Academic Subjects, Technology, & Peer Coaching.
Tutoring at USM: Writing
The Learning Commons, which is part of the Library, provides free tutoring for students in Writing, Academic Subjects, Technology, & Peer Coaching.
Reserve a Study Room
You can reserve a room in the Library for up to 2 hours/day. Be sure to select the Library you want (Por, Gor, or LAC) first and then the date, room, and time. Be sure to Confirm your appointment.

LibrarySearch (Library Catalog) Mini Search Box

Students: Electronic Reserves

Sign-in to MyUSM Portal
For best results, sign-in to MyUSM portal before beginning your work. Use your username, typically your firstname.lastname. No need to use @maine.edu.

Electronic Reserves - You must sign into MyUSM portal (link below).

If your instructor is using BrightSpace:
1. Click on the BrightSpace icon.
2. Click on your course and its Electronic Reserves.

If your instructor is not using BrightSpace:
1. Click on USM Quick Links.
2. Click on Course Reserves (ARES).
3. Click on Search Courses.
4. Search for your Course by Department, Instructor, or Course Number, e.g. ENG 100, ANT 103,...)
5. Click Add Course, next to the green + sign. Now, each time you go to Electronic Reserves (ARES) you will see this course and won't need to add it again.
6. Click View Course and you will see a list of items (PDF articles, videos, ...)
7. Finally, Click on Show Details, View Items to open the resource.

Databases

ERIC - Education (ProQuest)
Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full text digital archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Current issues of journals are often available from other USM databases.
PsycINFO
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. It includes empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts)
indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. It includes journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes more than 1,500 periodicals in the fields of political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Indexing begins in 1975, and is updated monthly.