Subject Guides: SOC 301: Qualitative Research Methods: Secondary Sources

What are Secondary Sources?

A secondary source interprets primary sources and the original historical event. It specifically examines events for some sort of (often scholarly) purpose. Secondary sources are usually created much later than the original event in question.

Examples of Secondary Sources:

Books
Documentaries
Journal Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials and monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full text digital archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage generally begins with the first issuse running to within 3 years of present. Current issues of journals are often available from other USM databases.
Project MUSE
Project Muse, a project initiated by John's Hopkins University Press, provides PDF full-text access to more than 600 peer-reviewed journals from 250 university presses and scholarly societies. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.
Communication Source
Searchable database provides abstracts,indexing, and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields. Includes coverage of over 1,000 core titles and features full-text for more than 600 active periodicals

Past events in Special Collections
These recorded events from special collections mention a lot of great resources and information regarding the LGBTQ+ movement in Maine.

Journals

These journals can be found by searching their title:

(You can also us the Browse by Subject -- Social Sciences -- Gender & Ethnic Studies)

The Advocate (Los Angeles, Calif.)

American journal of sexuality education

Curve

The Harvard gay & lesbian review

GLQ: Gay and Lesbian Quarterly

Gender & history

Gender & behaviour

Gender & society

Gender, place and culture : a journal of feminist geography

Gender studies & research

Journal of Bisexuality

Journal of the History of Sexuality

Journal of Homosexuality

Journal of Lesbian studies

Journal of sex research

Lambda nordica

Law & sexuality

Queer Studies in Media & Pop Culture

Race, Gender & Class

Sexuality & culture

Studies in gender and sexuality

Transgender studies quarterly

Finding Books: LibrarySearch, MaineCat, WorldCat

LibrarySearch (Library Catalog)
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all UMS libraries. You can also search for journal articles here too.

MaineCat
Statewide book catalog that includes Colby, Bates, Bowdoin, UNE, Husson and many other libraries in Maine. Always search LibrarySearch first; request a book from MaineCat with your USM library barcode number only if there is no available copy in LibrarySearch.
WorldCat
If LibrarySearch and MaineCat do not have the item you need, then check WorldCat. Once you find the item you need, click on the title, under 'Get this item' click on "Order through ILLiad," and sign into your ILLiad account, complete the form, and submit the information. You will receive an email when your item has arrived in print or electronically. If you don't have an ILLiad account, you can create one for free.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.

Looking in the stacks

The majority of books concerting LGBTQ+ past and present are in the HQ 71 to HQ 78 call number range.

Finding LGBTQ+ related material in the the library catalog and databases can be a bit of a challenge. Here are some Subject headings to start with. You can pair these with other subject terms like history (gender identity history). Also, keep in mind that terminology has changed over time, so older materials may use older terms that today the community finds hurtful.

Asexuality (Sexual orientation).
Bisexuality.
Gays.
Lesbians.
Gender identity.
Gender nonconformity.
Intersex people.
Homosexuality.
Transgender people.
- Transgender men.
- Transgender women.
- Transsexuals.
Queer theory.
Gender nonconformity.
Gay rights.
Gay liberation movement.
Coming out (Sexual orientation).
Non-monogamous relationships.
Sexual behavior.
Sexology.
Sexual orientation.
Sexual minority community.

More Lists

For more comprehensive lists of Terms in LGBTQ information:

LGBTQ Library of Congress Subject Headings
Subject headings related to the LGBT experience.
Homosaurus
The Homosaurus is an international linked data vocabulary of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) terms. This vocabulary is intended to function as a companion to broad subject term vocabularies.