Subject Guides: Criminology: Find Books

Finding Books in the Library

Books are great sources for getting a big overview on a topic, like gun violence or police reform. Most books on criminology are located on the shelves in the call number range of HV 1 through HV 9960. Just ask a librarian to help you find them. You can also use LibrarySearch and our eBook Databases to help find relevant books on your topic.

If we don't have a book here at USM or in the UMaine system, we can request it to be send from another library with InterLibrary Loan.

Finding Books: LibrarySearch, MaineCat, WorldCat

LibrarySearch (Library Catalog)
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all UMS libraries. You can also search for journal articles here too.

MaineCat
Statewide book catalog that includes Colby, Bates, Bowdoin, UNE, Husson and many other libraries in Maine. Always search LibrarySearch first; request a book from MaineCat with your USM library barcode number only if there is no available copy in LibrarySearch.
WorldCat
If LibrarySearch and MaineCat do not have the item you need, then check WorldCat. Once you find the item you need, click on the title, under 'Get this item' click on "Order through ILLiad," and sign into your ILLiad account, complete the form, and submit the information. You will receive an email when your item has arrived in print or electronically. If you don't have an ILLiad account, you can create one for free.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.

Featured criminology titles

Chokehold: Policing Black Men (book) by Paul Butler
Call Number: USM HV8141 .B88 2017

ISBN: 9781595589057

Publication Date: 2017
From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime by Elizabeth Hinton
Call Number: USM HV9950 .H56 2016

Publication Date: 2016
How America got its guns: A history of the gun violence crisis (E-book) by Briggs, William
Call Number: E-book; Click title to access

Publication Date: 2017
Sexual Crime and Prevention (E-book) by Lievesley, Rebecca (Editor); Kerensa Hocken (Editor); Helen Elliott (Editor); Belinda Winder (Editor); Nicholas Blagden (Editor); Phil Banyard (Editor)
Call Number: E-book; click title above for access

Publication Date: 2018
Building a Black Criminology Volume 24 by James D. Unnever; Shaun L. Gabbidon; Cecilia Chouhy
Call Number: E-book; Click title above for access

Publication Date: 2019

eBook Databases

Sign-in to MyUSM portal for access to thousands of E-books. We have access to E-books labeled 'USM Access' or 'UM System-wide Access.'

Sign-in to MyUSM Portal
For best results, sign-in to MyUSM portal before beginning your work. Use your username, typically your firstname.lastname. No need to use @maine.edu.
LibrarySearch (Library Catalog)
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all UMS libraries. You can also search for journal articles here too.

ProQuest Ebook Central
E-book collection that includes over 50,000 titles spanning all academic subject areas.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Includes 7,885 e-books. The titles are also searchable in LibrarySearch.

Criminology

Finding Books in the Library

Finding Books: LibrarySearch, MaineCat, WorldCat

Featured criminology titles

eBook Databases

Free E-books from the National Academies