Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Academic Search Complete is one of many databases that USM subscribes to and can help you find articles on a wide variety of topics. For more in-depth research with a narrower focus, consult our subject list of databases.
If you have no idea which discipline is the best match, you want multidisciplinary sources, or you're just not finding anything in a single database, try Onesearch.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
FSTA: Food Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
FSTA provides indexing and abstracting for over 1000 active journals (with previous references from over 4000 additional journals) as well as standards, conference proceedings, theses, patents, and books in subject areas including related pure and applied sciences, pet foods, food psychology, food economics, food safety, and nutrition. Coverage 1969-present; updated weekly.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
Comparing Scholarly, Trade, & Popular Articles
Finding Newspaper Articles
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) provides full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Iit inncludes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).