Subject Guides: Social Work: Alumni

Library Services for Alumni

Alumni Cards (USM Libraries)
Graduates of USM may get an Alumni Card at one of the USM Card Offices. Alumni do NOT have access to online journals from off-campus. Please click above to see alumni Library privileges.
USM Card Services
Contact card services to obtain a USM ID which is also used as your library card. You need your ID Card to access Library Resources.(Note: Alumni cannot access databases remotely) If you have any questions, please call 207-780-4270 .

LibrarySearch and Mainecat, can be searched by alumni; but it will ask for a CURRENT log in once you try to access paid full text. It does offer an Open Access limit on the advanced search screen, or to the left of your results after running an initial search.

ASWB Exam Resources

ASWB Exam Resources
Link to a guide listing study guides, practice tests, etc. available to you through USM Libraries or Maine Digital Library.

Free, Open Access, or Publicly Funded Databases

Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides full-text articles from over 1145 free peer-reviewed journals covering all scholarly and scientific subjects.

ERIC Database (Education Resources Information Center)
Open Access. Particular strength in topics relating to children, school contexts, etc.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Topics
Justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Topical Index that include: corrections, courts, crime prevention, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims.
PUBMED
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. Included are links to many sites with full-text article.
Google Scholar
Anyone can use Google Scholar to do research. Results often include a mix of free and articles that require payment. Alumni can learn more about Interlibrary Loan for Alumni.