Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
URSUS Library Catalog
URSUS is the book catalog for the University of Maine System Libraries. Online access is provided within records to e-books and streaming videos. Free delivery between URSUS-participating libraries.
Book catalog for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin plus most public libraries in Maine. USM students may Request delivery to USM campus libraries.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world. Includes all types of information resources. Updated daily.
Create an account and use to order delivery of books and articles from other institutions.
Recommended general and medical databases
Enter your search keywords and use the filters to limit your results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database. Updated daily.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text coverage: From 1981 for most titles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Updated weekly
Use OneSearch or Google Scholar to search more broadly or find more results.
OneSearch searches for everything the USM library owns. It's a good place to start, but searching in URSUS and a Database or two sometimes get you closer to what you're looking for.
Google's academic search, will find scholarly articles, books, and reports. If using off-campus, go to settings and search for University of Southern Maine under "library links" to connect to our subscriptions.