A History of Western Music by
Maintaining the authority and breadth of coverage that have always defined this classic text, J. Peter Burkholder has meticulously revised and restructured the text to make it more accessible for today's students. This revision places a stronger emphasis on social and historical context and adds substantially expanded pedagogy and striking four-color design.
Music in Western Civilization by
Understand music in context with MUSIC IN WESTERN CIVILIZATION! Clear and easy-to-understand, this music text provides you with the tools you need to succeed in this course. With a focus on the history of music in the wider context of Western civilization, you will see how study of music history is important to the practice and performance of music today. Numerous full-color photographs, maps, and timelines give you a sense of the place of music within the arts and humanities in the West. Class preparation is made easy with the book-specific website that contains features such as additional musical selections, a music glossary, unit resources, and more.
The Development of Western Music by
An abridged version of a text which presents the history of music in the western world. The text emphasizes the most important styles, composers and works. Features include: timelines; maps; anthologies; recordings; and insights which offer sidelights on topics ranging from Europe's National beginnings, to the Theremin and Ondes Martenot. The text is intended for music students, and is written in a clear and accessible style.
URSUS (UMaine System Libraries & more) To request a book from another URSUS library, click on the title, click on Request next to the red check mark. Then enter your name and barcode number which begins with 25022... or 218... (on your USM ID Card) & select the campus where you want the book sent for pickup. Items typically arrive within business 3 days and you will be notified by email.
MaineCat (Bates, Bowdoin, Colby, ME public libraries & more) is where you go if the item you need is unavailable in URSUS. Click on the title. Click on Request This Item next to the red check mark. Select your home library and fill in the info as above. Items typically arrive within 3 business days.
WorldCat (libraries beyond Maine) is where you go if the item is unavailable in URSUS or MaineCat. You will need to use your ILLiad account. Electronically-delivered items usually arrive to your email within 48 hours. Physical items may take 1-3 weeks to arrive - please plan ahead when ordering!
This link opens in a new window
Baker's Dictionary of Music by
"Baker's Dictionary of Music" is an A to Z listing of musicians, famous compositions, musical terms and instruments. "Baker's Dictionary of Music" covers everything from Bach to rock music. Illustrated with more than 125 photographs and drawings, including in-depth essays on musical topics and an introduction to musical terminology.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by
This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. The Harvard Dictionary of Music has long been admired for its wide range as well as its reliability. This treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. Encyclopedia-length articles by notable experts alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Garland's ambitious 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Although each volume will differ because of the nature of the material, the organization remains consistent throughout all : regional overviews first ; music in the social context next ; then finally, the musical traditions of individual countries or ethnic groups.
Peer-Reviewed Articles & Text
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAudio Recordings
This link opens in a new window
Performances
This link opens in a new window
All the physical books and scores at the USM Libraries are organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. A guide to the Class M - Music Section can be found here.
Franco-American Music Traditions Collection, Franco-American Collection, University of Southern Maine Libraries. https://digitalcommons.usm.maine.edu/franco-music-traditions/5/
