Subject Guides: Newspaper Resources: Newspaper Databases & Books

Newspaper Databases

Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor provides indexing and full text coverage from 1988 to the present. The Christian Science Monitor is a major daily (M-F) newspaper offering international and US news and features.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
New York Times
New York Times database provides plain full text from 2001 to present. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Also, full text and indexing of the New York Times is available through the database ProQuest Global Newsstream for 1980 to present; The New York Times Index (a print index) covers 1851 to present; the Personal Name Index to the New York Times (a print index) covers 1851-1989.
Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal provides non-PDF full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984 to present. Some content (ads, etc.) may not be included.
Washington Post
Washington Post provides non-PDF full text coverage of the Washington Post from 2016 to present. Some content (ads, etc.) may not be included.

British Library Newspapers (19th Century)
19th Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local British newspapers of the nineteenth century, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The content includes 60 titles selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published. The collection has daily and weekly papers with a focus on London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America allows you to search American newspapers published between 1690-present. Availability of full text PDF images varies.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

Maine Newspaper Project
Digitized historical Maine newspapers by county. 1800s-2000s
Maine Newspaper Project 1999
The report lists the Maine titles found by the Maine Newspaper Project, the location where they were found, and whether they were original copies or microfilm. Not included is the extent of each repository's holdings.A repository in the list could have a complete run, a single issue, or anything in between.

Maine News Index Online
Maine News Index Online indexes Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts. 1992 to present. Articles published 1945-1992 in Portland Press Herald, Maine Sunday Telegram, Portland Evening Express, Portland Sunday Telegram, Maine Times, Down East, and Casco Bay Weekly, can be searched using the card file index that is housed in Portland Public Library's Portland Room.

The USM Free Press Student Newspaper
The University of Southern Maine Free Press is a community newspaper written and produced for an audience of students, staff and faculty, created by a team of USM students. We provide the news about our university and it’s community to our audience in a weekly print newspaper. We will justify our name by providing a public forum for free exchange of information and ideas within a university community of diverse viewpoints, goals and directions.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in depth reports on current issues in the news each week from 1923 to present. Reports often contain lengthy discussion plus graphs, pro/con articles, a chronology, and links to organizations and other associated resources. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full-text digital access to nearly every book, directory, bible, sheet music, sermon, pamphlet or broadside published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
19th Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections including a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Archives include British Politics and Society; Asia and the West; Europe and Africa; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, which includes more than 9,500 English, French and German titles of fiction (including gothic novels), short prose, dramatic works, and poetry.