NUR 270: Intro to Professional Nursing: Indexes and Databases

We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:

1) They are consistent in describing publications; you don't have to worry about finding a citation that's missing a volume or page number.

2) They are clear about what they do - you know the time period covered, the journal titles included, etc.

3) Contrary to what a lot of people seem to think, there is a lot of information that isn't on the open web.  And some of that information IS in our subscription databases.

Many of our databases provide you with help formatting your citations according to APA or other citation styles. 

In the EBSCO databases (CINAHL, Medline, PsycInfo), when you print, email, or save your citations, you can change the setting from the default "standard field format" to "citation format", and then choose the style you want.

In the following reference:

Rieger, K. L., & Chernomas, W. M. (2013). Arts-based learning: Analysis of the concept for nursing education. International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship, 10(1), 53–62. https;//doi.org/10.1515/ijnes-2012-0034 

• Rieger, K. L., & Chernomas, W. M. are the Authors.
• (2013) is the Date.
• Arts-based learning: Analysis of the concept for nursing education. is the Article Title.
• International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship is the Journal Name.
• 10 is the Volume Number.
• (1) is the Issue Number.
• 53-62 are the Page Numbers.
• https;//doi.org/10.1515/ijnes-2012-0034  is the DOI (Digital Object Identifier).

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications.