Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use library databases?
We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:
1) They are consistent in describing publications; you don't have to worry about finding a citation that's missing a volume or page number.
2) They are clear about what they do - you know the time period covered, the journal titles included, etc.
3) Contrary to what a lot of people seem to think, there is a lot of information that isn't on the open web. And some of that information IS in our subscription databases.
Finding Journal Articles
Because of the lengthy publishing cycle for a book, information in a book is not always current. Periodical articles are current sources of information. There are two main types of periodicals: scholarly and popular. Scholarly periodicals are usually referred to as journals. Articles in journals contain reports of primary research; the articles are written by experts in the field and for other researchers/scholars; use terms and language specific to that discipline; may include graphs, charts, etc. related to the topic; most often are peer reviewed via an editorial board; are published by professional organization or society, university, research centers, scholarly presses; and often include a bibliography. Popular periodical articles contain general information; are written using easily understood language that appeals to a varied audience; are usually written by journalists or others who are not experts in the field; do not include citations; has a limited or non-existent editorial review board; and may contain glossy photographs.
Date coverage: 1966-present
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and documents on education research and practice. Includes information in the area of educational psychology.
Handbook of Psychology
This 12-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-burgeoning discipline of psychology. This resource is a comprehensive collection of psychology literature reviewing virtually every core as well as contemporary topic in the subject area, from the established theories to the most modern research and developments.
Date coverage: 1985-present
This is a database of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. The database is updated daily.
Index to professional & academic literature in psychology & related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to 1,300+ journals in over 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in English. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Date coverage: 1887-present
Science Citation Index, Expanded
Date coverage: 2000-present
Comprehensive multidisciplinary coverage of approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching multi-disciplines to uncover information relative to their research.
Date coverage: 1974-current
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope.
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology, Third Edition is the only multi-volume reference in the field of experimental psychology. This offers comprehensive coverage of the latest research findings, as well as the most recent contributions in experimental psychology and methodology. It covers a wide variety of subjects including perception and sensation, memory, cognitive neuroscience, behavioral genetics, learning, language, reasoning, culture, motivation, emotion and methodology.