Subject Guides: SED 335 & SED 540: Exceptionalities in General Ed Classrooms: Home

Library Essentials

Ask A Librarian

Was the information in this guide helpful?

Please give us your input!

Yes!: 0 votes (0%)

Somewhat.: 2 votes (100%)

Not at all.: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 2

Welcome

This library site is designed for SED 540 and SED 335, however, everyone is welcome to explore it to learn more about exceptionalities in the educational setting. This webpage is also a site to come to after taking SED 335 or SED 540, to reconnect to the materials learned in the courses. If you have additions to the pages or questions, please feel free to contact Julie Alexandrin, who is overseeing the website for the Special Education Program.

Camp La Junta. Image in Public Domain

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.

Google is not a good place to find peer-reviewed articles. The library databases listed above are your best source.

Please refer to the Subject Guide for your discipline databases or browse Databases A - Z on the USM Library homepage.

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connect students and library patrons to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from more than 18,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and reference sources, with more than 8,800 in full text. Academic OneFile also offers engaging multimedia, with over 59,000 images and 3,500+ audio files. Also included is a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; and links to over 1.2 million video files, from shows like Frontline and NOVA. With extensive coverage in key subject areas including the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects, students and patrons are able to find, share, or use accurate, current information with ease
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected journals in North America. Coverage includes education, specifically adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, special education, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods. Full-text coverage from 1983, citation coverage from 1969.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With 800+ full-text periodicals and 200 reports, Educator's Reference Complete is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education and testing. It also provides insights on issues in administration, funding, and education policy.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Students, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection. The full-text of authoritative periodical content supports research in all fields of psychology — abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly

Contacts

Your instructors:

Pat Red (pat.red@maine.edu)
Ron Robert (ron.robert@msad60.org)
Jean C. Whitney (jean.whitney@maine.edu)

Access Services: (207) 780-4270
For assistance with your Card, E-reserves, Interlibrary Loan, or Checkouts

USM Library Reference Desks for research assistance:

Gorham (207) 780-5345
LAC (207) 753-6540
Portland (207) 780-4272

SED 335 & SED 540: Exceptionalities in General Ed Classrooms: Home